Jump to content


Photo

Neximage and Windows 7

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 saemark30

saemark30

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1187
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

Posted 14 January 2013 - 04:36 PM

I got a Neximage and installed it on a Windows 7 x64.
It sort of works, I can't get the video controls working. Like to tinker with the exposure settings.
Anyone else using this with or without success?

PS this is the CCD camera not the Neximage 5.

#2 NeilMac

NeilMac

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3251
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2010
  • Loc: MedHat, AB, Canada

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:47 AM

I returned a new Laptop with W7 because its not compatible with some older equipment, awfully slow too with 4gigs ram.

#3 Phil Sherman

Phil Sherman

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1569
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:44 PM

Get Win7 Pro and you can get a (free) 32 bit XP virtual machine from MS that runs under Win7. Load your Neximage software on the virtual machine, connect the camera to it and image away.

I did this for over a year with a Canon Rebel Xt (350D) camera that didn't have drivers available for Win7. It's an easy solution and XP Pro only cost me an additional $20 when buying the system.

Phil

#4 Cliff Hipsher

Cliff Hipsher

    Apollo

  • ***--
  • Posts: 1147
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008
  • Loc: North Chesterfield, VA

Posted 16 January 2013 - 11:02 AM

Which Neximage? I have the Lunar and Planetary version and it works fine on Vista and Win7.

#5 saemark30

saemark30

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1187
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

Posted 16 January 2013 - 02:04 PM

Yes it is the Lunar and Planetary version.
Can you manually change the exposure, brightness and contrast settings?
Perhaps you can post a screen shot of that screen?

#6 joelimite

joelimite

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1787
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:13 PM

I'm using my NexImage with the 64-bit edition of Windows 7. Works fine, here. I capture video with wxAstroCapture.

#7 saemark30

saemark30

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1187
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

Posted 21 January 2013 - 06:37 PM

Are you using it in native Win7 mode and not the Virtual PC?
Which driver are you using with the camera?

#8 joelimite

joelimite

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1787
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 21 January 2013 - 06:42 PM

I'm using it in native Windows 7 x64. I'm using the drivers this page links to: http://www.astro.sho...e_windows_7.htm

Follow the instructions to a tee and it should work.

#9 saemark30

saemark30

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1187
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2012

Posted 24 January 2013 - 02:29 PM

Are you able to adjust the shutter speed and image brightness, contrast with your Win7 driver? I can't seem to do that.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics