30 replies to this topic

#1 ponz

ponz

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Kansas City, MO

Posted 14 January 2013 - 06:46 PM

Howdy.

I recently bought a Skywatcher Pro 80ED with an Atlas mount, etc.....to get into imaging.

However, I'd also like to utilize the scope for viewing. The scope came with a 5mm and 20mm eyepiece, 2" diag, step down, etc....

As a photographer I'm experiencing lens lust all over again!

I'd like a quality eyepiece for lunar and planetary viewing to make the scope a little more versatile. I've been eyeballing the Neglar 6-3mm as a one eyepiece fits all.

It's my understanding that 2" is better tha 1.25"? If so, I don't see any 2"ers in that focal length....

Your thoughts please?

Thanks,
Ponz

#2 MikeBOKC

MikeBOKC

Aurora

• Loc: Oklahoma City, OK

Posted 14 January 2013 - 08:21 PM

Two inch eyepieces are generally north of about 24mm. The gap in your lineup would be well filled by something in the 10-12mm range. The Explore Scientific 11mm 82 degree eyepiece is a sweet spot for many, well regarded and currently on sale if you can find one in stock. Or if you want to go a little richer take a look at the 10mm Delos from Televue.

#3 Hermie

Hermie

Ranger 4

• Loc: Cloudy HKG

Posted 14 January 2013 - 08:23 PM

Ponz,

Congratulations on your purchase! The Nagler 3-6 is a great eyepiece for a short refractor. I think that your scope is 900mm focal length and in that case the Nagler zoom is very high power. If you increase power too much, you will find the view becomes very dim and unsteady.

Short focal length (high magnification) eyepieces are all 1.25" because the light cone entering the eyepiece is small. As you go to longer focal length/lower power eyepieces the field of view has to be increased to 2" or become narrower. So 2" eyepieces become the norm as you increase past about 20mm.