Jupiter 1.16.13 best yet for me

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 tonyb

tonyb

Viking 1

• Loc: WA, USA

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:30 PM

This is Jupiter taken from Bellevue, WA, USA. It's pretty much for me, the best end result I've achieved. A combination of better seeing, higher position of Jupiter and some post-proc changes helped. Captured through Celestron 9.25 + x3 Televue Barlow and Imaging Source DBK 31AU03.AS color camera + IC Capture.AS. Approx 1/30 sec exposure, for 180 seconds, frame rate 30, gain around 90% and histogram about 75% of saturation.
Stacked 2,502 frames in AutoStakkert!2, of which I'm still learning this great program.
Then RGB balance and wavelets in Registax 6.
Cropped 50% in Photoshop CS6 and levels, curves and saturation adjusted.
This image is showing that rind effect which I'm unsure yet how to best process out - maybe PS masks with some edge blurring.

Attached Files

#2 Rankinstudio

Rankinstudio

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Southern UT

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:35 PM

That is a very nice image, one to be proud of for sure.

#3 Kokatha man

Kokatha man

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: "cooker-ta man" downunda...

Posted 17 January 2013 - 07:22 PM

A big jump and you've created a really good image Tony..! :applause:

Sharpening does increase that effect but there are easy ways to deal with it if you want the sharpened outcome rather than dropping back therein - if you have Photoshop you can use the "Quick Selection" tool to grab the planet* after first magnifying the image for greater accuracy, then "Select>modify>contract" a measured pixel amount will bring the selection just inside said "rind."