• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 butsam

butsam

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ohio

Posted 19 January 2013 - 02:16 PM

I've got a really silly amateur question... Last night, I was looking at the Moon, and it was pretty bright (a little before First Quarter), but neat! Anyway, I pulled out the Moon Filter, and couldn't get it to thread on over the top of the EP easily (and I didn't want to apply much pressure -- don't want to damage the EP)...is it supposed to thread on like that (and do I need to worry about ruining the EP while trying), or am I using it wrong, or is it just a somewhat loose fit over the top?

The eyepieces I have (with the exception of the 25 mm which came with the scope) are all from the Celestron Eyepiece/Filter Kit, so presumably they do accept a filter...but am I being a total novice and just doing something incorrect?

#2 Tel

Tel

Cosmos

• Loc: Wallingford England

Posted 19 January 2013 - 02:45 PM

Hi Butsam,

I would hazard a guess that the moon filter rather than the EP is the culprit. There are some non-standard threaded EPs about but I would not think that those contained in the Celestron EP kit ranked amongst them.

But yes, I have experienced this type of thread binding myself on more than one occasion and a poorly constructed filter thread has invariablty proved to be the cause.

An easy check can however be made by screwing another filter into the same EP ; assuming that no damage to the EP's thread has occured, which is unlikely if the binding filter is made of plasic and that of the EP adapter: metal.

In any event, don't force the thread. Given that the moon filter will unscrew from the EP and that no damage has occured to the EP thread, I would be inclined to reject any further use of this filter and invest in a better quality one.

Hoping this helps,
Best regards,
Tel

#3 Peter9

Peter9

Aurora

• Loc: Yorkshire - Born & Bred

Posted 19 January 2013 - 02:58 PM

Hi Butsam,