• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Mxplx2

Mxplx2

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: PA USA

Posted 20 January 2013 - 02:21 PM

I bought 10x50 Bushnell binos with insta focus as a step up from my 7x25's. As a newb, I wasn't thinking quality. I just wanted bigger and I wanted it now, and they were cheap. I found while using however, that focus had to be re-adjusted shortly after being set. It would be set only to have to re-set. I lived with it for a while, but this morning I thought I'd give it a closer look. It seems that you can change focus by just pushing in on the eyepieces as you hold the binos against your eye sockets. Pushing in by hand you can see the insta focus lever move as the eyepices move in. I can't see any kind of fix for this except maybe finding the best focus point while getting a star to a pinpoint, and locking the adjustment in place somehow permanently. I don't believe that focus need be re-adjusted from object to object, since it's all on the same dome so to speak. If I'm wrong, then I would like to know. Otherwise, they work pretty well for the buck.

#2 Mark9473

Mark9473

Cosmos

• Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 20 January 2013 - 02:32 PM

Seems you got what you paid for, unfortunately. I hope somebody will drop by with a fix.

#3 BillC

BillC

on a new path

• Loc: Lake Stevens, WA, USA

Posted 20 January 2013 - 10:03 PM

Hi Mxplx2:

The following is from a monograph of mine called De-MYTH-Tifying Binoculars, and has been around for at least the 9 years I've been here. But, while some would dismiss MY comments, you've experienced it for yourself. Thus, it is now part of YOUR knowledge, too.