• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 linux

linux

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Evans, Ga.

Posted 20 January 2013 - 08:15 PM

So I'm a newbie, had the department store refractor when I was 10, now retired and decided to take up this as a hobby. I bought a used Orion XT8 that came with 3 starter eyepieces and after my initial outing I realized I will need to get some quality EP's.

So being an ex-engineer and somewhat anal, I read everything I could on eyepiece optics, and of course I put all the spec's of all the EP's I could find on a spreadsheet, actually a worthwhile exercise I think. The result is a "lot" of variables in terms of focal length, AFOV, eye relief and cost, not to mention the actual quality of the products that can only be appreciated by reading reviews or testing yourself.

The whole thing seems daunting...

I just joined the Augusta Astronomy Club and had a first night looking through some EP's and will do more in a few weeks. I wear glasses so it'd be great if I didn't have to take them off although I guess that's a possibility. Anyway, here's my 1st order criteria:

Eye relief: 20mm. I guess this could drop a little; I'll have to check out some options at the club.

AFOV: ~70 to 80 mm. Here I really have to experience some real EP's at the club, but this seems to be a good cost effective compromise in what I've read. My existing EP's are 6, 6.5 and 16.9. The small one is like looking through a straw, maybe worse.

Cost: I "could" afford the pricey TV eyepieces, but would would not want to if I can get 80% of the quality for half the cost. I do not have problem spending say, $300 for and EP if it will serve me for a long time. I don't want to spend $5000 before I figure it out, but maybe that goes with the territory :)

As far as what I want to view, well, I don't really know. Probably DSO stuff mostly but I'm sure I'll want to spend some time on planets/moon/sun.