Jump to content


Photo

Celestron StarSense

  • Please log in to reply
1199 replies to this topic

#26 ghataa

ghataa

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Central, NJ

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:37 PM

Does this assume all stars are available for alignment? I would guess there are many folks who have blocked views of certain sections of the sky.

Or can you pick what stars it can align on based on user input?

George

#27 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 25 January 2013 - 06:50 PM

It can be allowed to pick its own regions of sky or you can manually point it to different locations that are unobstructed.

Got that from looking at SkyProdigy manual on Celestrons website

#28 palmer570

palmer570

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2012
  • Loc: Scranton, Pennsylvania

Posted 26 January 2013 - 02:07 PM

I got on the pre-order list yesterday, sounds like it will make my setup a little easier.

I wouldn't be surprised if someone eventually made a Eq. mount with motors in it to make small adjustments to polar alignment. Doesn't seem like it would be terribly hard to do.

#29 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 26 January 2013 - 04:08 PM

Would be a whole lot easier than trying to turn knobs that just roll over some plate..

#30 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:24 AM

Anyone know when Starsense is available to buy?

#31 palmer570

palmer570

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2012
  • Loc: Scranton, Pennsylvania

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:39 AM

From what I read from vendors it will be out in April.

#32 CharlesW

CharlesW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1387
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Chula Vista & Indio, CA

Posted 02 February 2013 - 01:19 PM

Maybe I'm missing something here but isn't it a necessity that the FOV of the Star Sense be centered on the same FOV as your scope? If you are setting up your system from scratch every time, wouldn't aligning the two take just as much time as just using a Telrad and a reticle? After the frustration I had the other night getting my scope aligned I'm dying for something like Star Sense, but it has to be easy to set up every time.

#33 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15786
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 02 February 2013 - 01:45 PM

Where was your frustration? It's possible we can save you some bucks.

#34 CharlesW

CharlesW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1387
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Chula Vista & Indio, CA

Posted 02 February 2013 - 06:15 PM

I don't want to hijack this thread but my frustration was that I set up my scope in the dark and I didn't get the Telrad's dovetails inserted into the holder correctly. To answer my own question, I just read the March Sky and Telesope. There is a Celestron scope review in which the author says Starsense is good enough to get an object in the eyepiece, but not centered. You then go to a calibration page in the menu to get things centered up.

#35 SkipW

SkipW

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 337
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2011
  • Loc: Oklahoma, USA

Posted 02 February 2013 - 11:37 PM

Not to be insensitive, but it sounds like you're looking for technology to compensate for user error. StarSense may indeed be great, but only it it's set up right, which is probably fraught with its own complications. Please take a little more time to see if you really need it. Set up your rig correctly and try again. After all... "Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway." If you stay with it you will probably learn to put everything together by feel; until then, set up in the day or use a red flashlight.

#36 Stew57

Stew57

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2560
  • Joined: 03 May 2009
  • Loc: Silsbee Texas

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:14 AM

Accuracy is the break or make. I can't see a 20mm f2 with that camera being as accurate as using my mallincam through my C11 at f10. I hope I am wrong

#37 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

    Refractor wienie no more

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 33958
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2003
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:32 AM

Accuracy is the break or make. I can't see a 20mm f2 with that camera being as accurate as using my mallincam through my C11 at f10. I hope I am wrong


If you refer to the accuracy of the alignment, the camera's focal length doesn't enter into it. Nothing about the image is measured in any way; only the relative star locations are used to match up a piece of sky. The accuracy will depend only on the accuracy of the star locations in the database used to plate solve the images, and the algorithms used.

#38 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15786
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:34 AM

I don't want to hijack this thread but my frustration was that I set up my scope in the dark and I didn't get the Telrad's dovetails inserted into the holder correctly. To answer my own question, I just read the March Sky and Telesope. There is a Celestron scope review in which the author says Starsense is good enough to get an object in the eyepiece, but not centered. You then go to a calibration page in the menu to get things centered up.


The answer, I think, is not the Celestron gadget, but tuning up your setup procedure. That's a lot cheaper, too. :cool:

#39 TimP

TimP

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2009

Posted 03 February 2013 - 03:46 PM

Calibrate – Your telescope’s camera may need to be calibrated if
the telescope cannot find objects after being successfully aligned.
To Calibrate the camera:
1. Slew the telescope to the bright star that you are trying to
find.
2. Select Calibrate from the StarSense menu option.
3. The hand control will display the current pixel position of the
center of the camera sensor.
4. Use the direction buttons to manually center the bright star
in the eyepiece. Press ENTER.
SkyProdigy will then take an image of the sky and calibrate the
center of the camera sensor with the star seen in the eyepiece.

Tim

#40 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1584
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 03 February 2013 - 03:58 PM

I have one on pre-order too. All I can and will ask of it is to be able to put things as close to center of the eyepiece as is reasonable. For outreach I want to use either sky safari with the skyfi wireless adapter or SkyQ from Celestron. I want to tell it to go to an object while I discuss with those around what it is they can expect to see. I want it to be in the eyepiece once it gets there. Or even better, using something like the Mallincam to show the view on a projector screen. I don't have to say..hmm ok hold on a sec while I find it in the finder and center it. So if the StarSense can do that for me...

SOLD!

#41 Hilmi

Hilmi

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3815
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2010
  • Loc: Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

Posted 03 February 2013 - 04:06 PM

You know what would be cool? A similar product but generic to all mounts, one that would for example plate solve on PC (without the purchase of extra software) and do pointing corrections through ASCOM driver of your mount. I'm thinking a sleek simple to use, integrated solution

#42 TimP

TimP

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2009

Posted 03 February 2013 - 04:24 PM

I have one on pre order as well. I believe there is alot of room for advancement with this product. Lets see if Celestron takes advantage of it.

Tim

#43 palmer570

palmer570

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2012
  • Loc: Scranton, Pennsylvania

Posted 03 February 2013 - 08:52 PM

I think others or maybe myself are thinking of this accessory in the wrong way.

I see its usefulness out of the box being:

Level tripod
Attach mount (alt/az for me)
Power on and let starsense do initial star alignment while I continue setting up
Then do a quick calibration between starsense and ota.
Then enjoy

For a Eq you will have to add all star polar alingment after callibrating starsense to ota to get a better polar alingement.

This would, to me, elliminate the need for a finder scope during the alingment process.

Also as mentioned before the starsense makes a map of the stars and the calibration tells the mount where the ota is pointing on that map. So the two don't have to be actually aligned like a finder scope does.

#44 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 04 February 2013 - 06:46 AM

I am thinking tat the camera to ota calibration should be done before aligning with Starsense.....

Or have i missed something?



I think others or maybe myself are thinking of this accessory in the wrong way.

I see its usefulness out of the box being:

Level tripod
Attach mount (alt/az for me)
Power on and let starsense do initial star alignment while I continue setting up
Then do a quick calibration between starsense and ota.
Then enjoy

For a Eq you will have to add all star polar alingment after callibrating starsense to ota to get a better polar alingement.

This would, to me, elliminate the need for a finder scope during the alingment process.

Also as mentioned before the starsense makes a map of the stars and the calibration tells the mount where the ota is pointing on that map. So the two don't have to be actually aligned like a finder scope does.



#45 TimP

TimP

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2009

Posted 04 February 2013 - 01:55 PM

I am thinking tat the camera to ota calibration should be done before aligning with Starsense.....

Or have i missed something?



I think others or maybe myself are thinking of this accessory in the wrong way.

I see its usefulness out of the box being:

Level tripod
Attach mount (alt/az for me)
Power on and let starsense do initial star alignment while I continue setting up
Then do a quick calibration between starsense and ota.
Then enjoy

For a Eq you will have to add all star polar alingment after callibrating starsense to ota to get a better polar alingement.

This would, to me, elliminate the need for a finder scope during the alingment process.

Also as mentioned before the starsense makes a map of the stars and the calibration tells the mount where the ota is pointing on that map. So the two don't have to be actually aligned like a finder scope does.


I'll get back to you on that in a month or two. I have a CPC 1100 and a CGEM DX 11 Edge. I'll be trying it on both.

Tim

#46 palmer570

palmer570

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2012
  • Loc: Scranton, Pennsylvania

Posted 04 February 2013 - 02:46 PM

I honestly don't know the order of operations or if it will work the way I described. I was just speculating from what I read about how it works with the sky prodigy. Although that already has the camera mounted in relation to the OTA saddle so maybe you do have to do that first.

I'll be posting about mine also when it arrives, but can only test with my 8SE maybe a club member will have a eq. mount to test it out on.

#47 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 04 February 2013 - 03:44 PM

I wait for your tet

#48 cn register 5

cn register 5

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2012

Posted 04 February 2013 - 04:45 PM

My guess is that out of the box SS will align on the centre of it's field of view. There's an option to compensate for this and this is an electronic/computer way of aligning a finder. You do it once and as long as you always replace your finder/SS module the same way you don't need to do it again.

Chris

#49 TimP

TimP

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2009

Posted 04 February 2013 - 09:15 PM

The price is 309.95 at OPT.

http://www.optcorp.c...=starsense&st=2

#50 dr.who

dr.who

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 1563
  • Joined: 05 Jan 2012

Posted 05 February 2013 - 12:21 AM

There is a Q&A page on Celestron's web site. Link for it below. Here is an excerpt on polar align and use as a guide cam:

Stephan G. asks, “Can the StarSense Accessory help polar alignment in some way?”

-StarSense won’t directly assist in polar alignment. However, because the GoTo alignment is very accurate with StarSense, All Star Polar Alignment becomes more accurate. You’ll be more closely polar aligned after just one iteration of the All Star alignment procedure. (This answer applies EQ mounts and CPC + Wedge mounts only.)

James D. asks, “My question is, can StarSense be used as a guide scope for imaging?”

-Not currently – the main reason is the 20mm f/2 lens used in the camera does not have enough focal length to accurately guide longer focal length telescopes. We acknowledge this feedback!

William W. asks, “Will the new StarSense Accessory guide me through a polar align on my CGEM DX? Does it replace my hand control?”

-StarSense replaces the existing NexStar hand controller. It does not assist polar alignment. It automatically aligns the GoTo.

Here is the link to the full (short Q&A):
http://www.celestron...celestron-st...

This is of some interest to me because per Celestron they are able to align it decently in their Gardena industrial park with all the associated sky glow, LP, and direct light interference and since many of the outreach events I go to tend to be in bright places like outdoor mall's and "old town" city streets so this would be a great step up from the bump and shuffle I do now manually tracking things. It would really nark off the dobbies if I roll up with an auto track SCT! :)






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics