Jump to content


Photo

Icodome converting QHY8 to monochrome sensing!

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Jim Chung

Jim Chung

    Vendor - Icodome

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 766
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Toronto

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:27 PM

Just a teaser to loyal followers, I'm on my way to a local Starbucks to pick up a lightly used QHY8 ccd (love living in a big city!). Research indicates that QHY simply used the entire sensor board from the Nikon D40 so it should be a simple matter to convert this to monochrome. Stay tuned for first light tests if the weather forecast holds for tomorrow night (clear but -18 C !!!!).

My thinking, for interested parties instead of sending the entire camera to me and then back, we can substantially save on shipping if I ship you a converted sensor board, give you instructions on installing (simple) and you send me your original sensor. Or for those of you less mechanically inclined we can still do it the traditional way.


Jim

#2 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5871
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 24 January 2013 - 01:16 AM

I'll be keeping an eye on this ...

#3 psandelle

psandelle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 683
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2008
  • Loc: Los Angeles

Posted 24 January 2013 - 01:28 PM

I will be looking closely at this, too.

I love the larger-sized Sony chips, but they don't ever come in mono. If anyone ever does a mono'd version of the QHY12...I'm all there!

Paul

#4 Cyclop_si

Cyclop_si

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Slovenia

Posted 24 January 2013 - 03:28 PM

Yes, large Sony mono chips are what we are looking for!

#5 corpusse

corpusse

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 810
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2010
  • Loc: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Posted 25 January 2013 - 11:26 PM

Hmmm. I'm local and I have a QHY8 too :)

#6 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5871
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 26 January 2013 - 02:39 PM

Hmmm. I have a QHY8 too :)


pretty much what "I'll be keeping an eye on this ..."

meant :grin:

#7 Jim Chung

Jim Chung

    Vendor - Icodome

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 766
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Toronto

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:05 AM

With regret I have to announce a halt to my QHY8 monochrome conversion development. QHY does utilize a Nikon sensor platform from the D40/D50 family but while very similar and definitely a Nikon product, it is neither a D40 or D50 sensor board but some strange hybrid. Releasing the board was difficult because QHY decided to cover the PCB surface with a silicone sealant which effectively becomes a glue. I must have been tired as well because I damaged the sensor wires while removing the Bayer layer and now have to contact QHY to see if they have any extras. The idea of just swapping Nikon D40 sensor boards is definitely not feasible.

On a positive note .... I did successfully convert my first Nikon D5100, a great DSLR.



Jim

#8 psandelle

psandelle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 683
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2008
  • Loc: Los Angeles

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:06 PM

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo (inhale) oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

Bummer.

Oh, well.

Paul

#9 Cyclop_si

Cyclop_si

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Slovenia

Posted 27 January 2013 - 02:11 PM

:(

While contacting QHY regarding your QHY8 repair, it might be worth suggesting them possible cooperation to produce QHY8 mono camera together...

I hope something good still happens with this project. I am holding my fingers up!

#10 Jim Chung

Jim Chung

    Vendor - Icodome

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 766
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Toronto

Posted 17 February 2013 - 04:43 PM

Just some update on the QHY8 project as some people have wondered. I've been a little busy doing Nikon conversions but I have exchanged several emails with Qiu from QHY and he confirms that the QHY8 has several different internal sensor setups over the years. I can retrofit a D40 sensorboard but will need a new heatsink which he was going to send me. I also have to replace FFC connector on the motherboard because I broke it while trying to release the cable as a result of all the silicone sealant QHY sprayed over the PCB to prevent tampering!

So the QHY8 is temporarily on hold but not forgotten!



Jim

#11 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5871
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 17 February 2013 - 05:37 PM

They are very nice people over there at QHY! :like: from my own experience!

I'll keep watching with my QHY8 close by :grin:

#12 Jim Chung

Jim Chung

    Vendor - Icodome

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 766
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Toronto

Posted 18 February 2013 - 07:14 PM

Latest development - QHY is sending me a few QHY10 OSC sensors to convert to mono sensing for a potential new product line. I think they want to find some way to use up their large stock of these sensors. I think this is actually better than trying to convert the QHY8 to mono, the QHY10 sensor is better is all respects for this.

#13 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5871
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 18 February 2013 - 07:36 PM

Latest development - QHY is sending me a few QHY10 OSC sensors to convert to mono sensing for a potential new product line. I think they want to find some way to use up their large stock of these sensors. I think this is actually better than trying to convert the QHY8 to mono, the QHY10 sensor is better is all respects for this.


That is "very" Cool!

#14 fetoma

fetoma

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2411
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Southern NJ

Posted 18 February 2013 - 08:50 PM

Jim,

I talked to Qui yesterday via the QHY forums and he mentioned this. I didn't think much of it since it's a Sony sensor, but apparently you can do those also from your last post here. :waytogo:

#15 psandelle

psandelle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 683
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2008
  • Loc: Los Angeles

Posted 18 February 2013 - 11:55 PM

Got my fingers crossed on the QHY10 conversion - love my QHY12 and wish it were mono.

Paul

#16 Cyclop_si

Cyclop_si

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Slovenia

Posted 19 February 2013 - 01:29 AM

Great news! I am in for QHY10 mono :)

#17 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5641
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 19 February 2013 - 03:27 AM

the QHY8 and Nikon D40 use the same Sony sensor... the QHY10 Sony sensor is probably the same one in the Nikon D60 (10.2MP) so since Jim has successfully modded all these models of Nikon DSLR the QHY's should be straightforward.

Right, Jim? :D

and yes if QHY sold mono-fied Sony APS-C sensor cameras that would be great. The rest of the world is stuck with the 8300M and resorting to deep cooling to try to overcome the limitations of this consumer 4/3-DSLR chip.

and the Kodak 6303, 3200, etc. are all so expensive.

#18 Jim Chung

Jim Chung

    Vendor - Icodome

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 766
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Toronto

Posted 01 March 2013 - 07:19 PM

Look what came in the mail from QHY today!!

Three ICX493 and three ICX413 sensors!!

Attached Files



#19 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5871
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 01 March 2013 - 09:04 PM

Cool!

Isn't the 413 the sensor that they used in the prototype QHY8 then switched to the 453 for production?

#20 Cyclop_si

Cyclop_si

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Slovenia

Posted 02 March 2013 - 03:44 PM

I would gladly purchase mono camera based those sensors. By removing colour filter, do you remove microlensing as well or microlensing stay on chip?

Do you need some tester for those little gems... ? ;)

#21 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5641
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 03 March 2013 - 01:40 AM

I believe the microlenses get removed.. which reduces the QE from 60% to 40% (roughly). That still makes them equivalent to some of the lower-tier Kodak mono sensors... with the dark current of Sony sensors. Still a good deal particularly for the price.

#22 Jim Chung

Jim Chung

    Vendor - Icodome

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 766
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Toronto

Posted 03 March 2013 - 10:56 AM

There's been some interest in these sensors so I've attached an image of the underside of these chips.

Attached Files



#23 Cyclop_si

Cyclop_si

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Slovenia

Posted 03 March 2013 - 11:27 AM

Jim, can you please comment on microlenses?

#24 Jim Chung

Jim Chung

    Vendor - Icodome

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 766
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Toronto

Posted 03 March 2013 - 02:17 PM

Hi David,


Since the microlens layer overlies the Bayer layer, it too must be removed during this process.

regards,


Jim

#25 Cyclop_si

Cyclop_si

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Slovenia

Posted 03 March 2013 - 02:55 PM

Thanks Jim for clarification. Anyway, I am still excited. :)






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics