What am I doing wrong?

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 KD58

KD58

Ranger 4

• Loc: West Texas

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:05 PM

I am a novice at astronomy and I am having trouble with simple AP.

I have an ES 127 and have been trying to image the moon with my 5D MkII. However I can't seem to be able to get focus. All I see is a large white spot in live view. I have used a 2" adaptor connected directly to the focuser, tried attaching the adaptor to a 3-1/2 inch extension tube, attached the adaptor to a diagonal, tried a 5 inch extension tube but no luck. I can achieve perfect focus with an eyepiece, and an eyepiece attached to a 4X powermate but can't focus with the DSLR. It's driving me nuts and I'm sure that I am making some basic mistake but am too stupid to appreciate what it is. I would appreciate any help and advice that I can get.

#2 lamplight

lamplight

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: western MA, U.S.

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:13 PM

Hi

Welcome to CN!

I'm not an expert on this but what I found on my refractor is I have to remove the diagonal to get focus when attaching my camera prime.

#3 KD58

KD58

Ranger 4

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:15 PM

I have tried that but no luck:(

#4 shawnhar

shawnhar

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Knoxville, TN

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:40 PM

Reduce the exposure time to 1/125 second?

#5 KD58

KD58

Ranger 4

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:52 PM

Can't say for sure if I tried 1/125 but in the dark I dialled up and down to see it it made a difference, just made it brighter or darker. I'll try to do it again tomorrow if clouds allow it.

#6 pogobbler

pogobbler

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Central Indiana, USA

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:30 AM

You might first try the setup in the daytime, focusing on a distant object so the focus will be at or near infinity, make sure not to move the focus and then try it at night. With that, you know the focus, at least, should be correct or nearly so.

#7 Startraffic