Complete Newb Vintage Optics Testing

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Compressorguy

Compressorguy

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Clayton, NC

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:49 PM

at testing optics but always thought this was pretty cool. So I bought a tester and here is my first attempt at setting up and testing the primary from my vintage ToHo (Eikow) 114mm. It has a alot of very fine surface scratches from previous owners cleaning and needs a recoat any way, so I did not mind pulling it. Here it is set up in the stand.

Attached Files

#2 Compressorguy

Compressorguy

Surveyor 1

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:51 PM

The Foucalt Ronchi tester.

Attached Files

#3 Compressorguy

Compressorguy

Surveyor 1

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:54 PM

The set up with the ToHo and a 4" Uni in the background.

Attached Files

#4 Compressorguy

Compressorguy

Surveyor 1

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:59 PM

My very first vintage mirror Ronchi test. Success!! Like I said complete newb to testing and reading the results anyone care to evaluate?? I cant wait to knife egde test to view the mirror figure. This stuff is so cool!!!

Attached Files

#5 Compressorguy

Compressorguy

Surveyor 1

Posted 25 January 2013 - 11:01 PM

One more

Attached Files

#6 hottr6

hottr6

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: 7,500', Magdalena Mtns, NM

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:19 AM

Well done! It seems to me that the Ronchi lines at the radius of curvature of the mirror (twice the focal length) are straight, indicating a spheroid. More experienced ATMers can chime in here.

Next step for you is Focault testing.

#7 Mirzam

Mirzam

Skylab

• Loc: Lovettsville, VA

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:38 AM