Jump to content


Photo

Help tuning up a CG5

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 da_guy2

da_guy2

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 153
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Ottawa, Canada

Posted 26 January 2013 - 08:58 PM

So a few days ago I had posted seeking a recommendation for a new mount, many people had suggested I get a CG5 but I couldn't afford a new one. Well I was watching Kijiji and came across a Celestron C6-SGT. Apparently the telescope hadn't been used in a long time, and after sitting for so long had a few problems, so the price was great, but there's some work I'm going to need to do.

First, the power switch isn't working. I could de-solder the switch, and solder a new one in place (if I can find a matching switch). Or I could just put a jumper across the switch, and use it without a power switch. BUT I was wondering if anyone had any suggestion on how to recondition a slide switch that isn't working? I don't know if a spray with WD40 or something else might do the trick... Any suggestions?

Second, there seems to be a lot of play in there RA axis. I haven't opened it up to see what's inside yet, but I was wondering what I should be looking for when I do?

Lastly, it needs a polar alignment scope. Where can I get one, and how much should it cost?

Thanks,
David

#2 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4582
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:15 PM

You can buy the power board complete from Celestron for $20. Comes with the switch and RJ sockets and LED.

The play in the RA axis is probably just the wormgear/ringrear adjustment. This can be done when you have the motor cover off.

With the "All Star" polar alignment routine in the HC you don't need a polar scope. The firmware version is faster and more accurate.

Stan

#3 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15845
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 10:12 AM

The easiest way to deal with the power switch? Exercise it a bunch of times, blow it out with canned air, and it will begin working again--temporarily. Leave it on and turn power on and off by plugging/unplugging the power cable. That's what I've been doing since the switch failed on my 'bout four years ago.

How much is "a lot"?

The polar scope is pretty much worthless. The AllStar routine in the HC will produce a better polar alignment.

;)

#4 Pauls72

Pauls72

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 626
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2007
  • Loc: LaPorte, IN

Posted 27 January 2013 - 10:54 AM

On the switch you can try compressed air but a better solution would be to try electronics/contact cleaner. You can find this stuff at electronics stores, auto parts stores and even at Walmart in the automotive section.
http://www.crcindust...px?PN=05101&S=C

The Astronomy Boy web site has a whole section on tuning up and adjusting the CG5 style mounts.
http://www.astronomyboy.com/cg5/

#5 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15845
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 11:16 AM

Contact cleaner is probably better, but plain old canned air has worked on every CG5 switch I've tried it on (quite a few folks I know have the problem...in fact every CG5 owner probably will). Oh, and let me add, exercise the switch with the power off, of course.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics