• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 AstroTripper

AstroTripper

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Central Europe

Posted 27 January 2013 - 03:08 PM

Was wondering if it's possible to use an Android powered smartphone instead of webcam for some cheap and basic planetary imaging. And if this would even make any sense?

I'm new to this stuff so bare with me, please. First of all, I have not had any experience with webcams, so I'm not sure what their capabilities are.

That said, I'm thinking that two very important factors would be image quality and access to raw (or at least uncompressed) data. How does that look for those cheap webcams? Compressing video looses o lot of data, but I heard you can hack some of them to output raw data, is that common?

Do you think there might be any advantages to using a phone vs webcam? I'm thinking mounting might a bit tricky, but on the other hand, no need to carry a laptop.

What do you think about this idea?

#2 Tapio

Tapio

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 27 January 2013 - 03:21 PM

Add a fps (frames per second) number which is pretty important. Webcams are good in that department and can do raw imaging which I think smartphones can't.
And the 'lens' in smartphones is pretty useless in planetary imaging.
A small webcam without lenses and small (SSD)memory and screen (for focusing) would be nice to have ;).

#3 shrevestan

shrevestan

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Shreveport, LA

Posted 27 January 2013 - 06:44 PM

I've seen presentable images made with iPhone video converted and stacked with Registax so it can be done.

#4 SteveRosenow

SteveRosenow

Viking 1

• Loc: Shelton, Washington

Posted 27 January 2013 - 06:48 PM

If you have an Android smartphone with a high resolution output, I see no reason why it can't be done.

#5 Toxic Coolaid

Toxic Coolaid

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: NorthEast Tennessee

Posted 27 January 2013 - 07:13 PM

Here's a way to mount it.

http://www.telescope...escope-Photo...