Jump to content


Photo

GIgabit to USB dongle for a Flea

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 gregj888

gregj888

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 609
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2006
  • Loc: Oregon

Posted 27 January 2013 - 11:49 PM

Hi all,

I wondered is anyone can recommend a Gigabit Ethernet to USB3 dongle to use with a Point Grey Flea?

Thank you,

#2 ValeryD

ValeryD

    Vendor (Aries)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1147
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Kherson, Ukraine.

Posted 28 January 2013 - 05:09 AM

I use an USB3.0 to GigE Ethernet Adapter
by StarTech (StarTech.com)
Model USB31000S

Works just fine for me.

#3 Mike Phillips

Mike Phillips

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3523
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2006
  • Loc: Swift Creek, NC - 35.682 N, 78.743°W

Posted 28 January 2013 - 09:49 AM

Confusedly, are you guys running into computers that don't have GigE ports but yet do have USB3 ports?

I've been in computers too long that I find that ironic! :)

Mike

#4 PiotrM

PiotrM

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3224
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010
  • Loc: Poland

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:29 PM

Confusedly, are you guys running into computers that don't have GigE ports but yet do have USB3 ports?

I've been in computers too long that I find that ironic! :)

Mike


Ethernet is getting omitted more often from new laptops or especially ultrabooks. They want to make them thinner and thinner.

#5 gregj888

gregj888

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 609
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2006
  • Loc: Oregon

Posted 28 January 2013 - 01:16 PM

Valery, Thank you, I'll see if I can find one...

Mike, Yes, I have an ultrabook I want to use. Mine has ethernet but it's 10/100 and I have two USB3 ports.

Greg

#6 Mike Phillips

Mike Phillips

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3523
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2006
  • Loc: Swift Creek, NC - 35.682 N, 78.743°W

Posted 28 January 2013 - 02:57 PM

Ethernet is getting omitted more often from new laptops or especially ultrabooks. They want to make them thinner and thinner.


I know, it's just making me feel old! :(

Mike

#7 karlo

karlo

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 932
  • Joined: 21 May 2009
  • Loc: Yorkshire,UK, BLIGHTY !!

Posted 29 January 2013 - 11:12 AM

no ethernet ?? Geez ..and we as consumers are letting 'em get away wi' that ?? I know they're supposed to be light /thinnish and portable but at the expense of something like that- Crazy ! I'll stick with my ol' faithful Thinkpad

#8 gregj888

gregj888

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 609
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2006
  • Loc: Oregon

Posted 30 January 2013 - 02:27 PM

Karlo,
Not sure how it is in the rest of the world, but this is the only ethernet use I have with the laptop. Connections are wireless at home, office and on the road at least at the 90% level. I even wifi to my cell for tethering.

It is something to pay attention to though.

Greg

#9 ValeryD

ValeryD

    Vendor (Aries)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1147
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Kherson, Ukraine.

Posted 31 January 2013 - 05:09 PM

Karlo,
Not sure how it is in the rest of the world, but this is the only ethernet use I have with the laptop. Connections are wireless at home, office and on the road at least at the 90% level. I even wifi to my cell for tethering.

It is something to pay attention to though.

Greg



+1

#10 gregj888

gregj888

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 609
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2006
  • Loc: Oregon

Posted 04 February 2013 - 02:11 AM

Valery,

Thank you for the point to the StarTech USM adator. Came right up... seems to work just fine...

Greg






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics