Photo

Best Low Power Eyepiece for f5 refractor?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 SeptemberEquinox

SeptemberEquinox

Ranger 4

Posted 29 January 2013 - 11:32 AM

I have a 150mm aperture, 750mm focal length, f5 refractor. As a newbie I've only used this scope 3 times and the views I got with this scope was pretty amazing.

I'm studying the night sky as much as I can since I'm using cg4, so i have to manually scan the sky to find objects which is very challenging, for me at least. So I thought the best thing to get is a low power eyepiece to scan the night sky and find the object easily. But I'm not sure which one to get that is bang for your buck deal.

Currently I have Es 70* 20mm and a 25mm that came with the scope. I ordered Mead 5000 82* 24mm with a star diagonal 2", but I'm not sure when I will be receiving that order.

could you guys recommend me a low power eyepiece that is reasonable? Of course performance matter ��

Thank you in advance

#2 csrlice12

csrlice12

Voyager 1

• Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 29 January 2013 - 12:21 PM

The 24mm you have on order will give you 31X. Not certain what the lowest recommended power for your scope is. A 30mm would give you 25X, a 35m would give you 21X, and a 40mm would be 19X (probably as low as you would go). Truthfully, your 20mm 70* eyepiece gives you 38X, which is still pretty low power and wide-field and should be a pretty good finder on its own. For a fast scope though (refractor or reflector), you are going to need premium eyepieces (ES or better). The Meade UWA will work well in this scope, but is heavy, so you will have some balance problems switching out eyepieces. That scope will give you some nice wide-field views of nebulas, galaxies, etc.....

#3 SeptemberEquinox

SeptemberEquinox

Ranger 4

Posted 29 January 2013 - 02:13 PM

Can you tell a lot difference in between 21x and 31x??

#4 csrlice12

csrlice12

Voyager 1

Posted 29 January 2013 - 03:50 PM