• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Kildar13x

Kildar13x

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Maine

Posted 29 January 2013 - 02:12 PM

I just bought a Telrad for my Z12 to replace the cheap finder scope that came with the it. I had some questions about mounting it though. It came with double sided tape to use for mounting and I am a concerned how durable this will be. I regularly go out in negative temperatures and don't know how the tape will hold up in those temperatures. I realize you can screw it into the OTA with the provided holes in the base which might end up being my best bet. I also read on here somewhere that someone used large zip ties to mount it, is that feasible?

Lastly, I was thinking about mounting it between the focuser and where the old finder scope is, I don't know if that will throw the balance off or not, or if I even have to worry about balance or not.

I know I got lots of questions but this is my first Dob so I am new to this whole set up and just want to make sure I do it right. :help:

Thanks,
Zeke

#2 Thomas Karpf

Thomas Karpf

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Newington, CT

Posted 29 January 2013 - 02:16 PM

With regards to using large zip ties, how would you tighten the zip tie so it's snug?

#3 edwinh

edwinh

Vostok 1

• Loc: Chandler AZ

Posted 29 January 2013 - 02:59 PM

Have used the tape before for temporary... have drilled holes in the tube and used screws on the base, left it that way a long time.

Moved my telrads to use the scopestuff telrad rail with finder shoe and just put secondary shoes on my scopes. A plus is that it raises it somewhat, negating the need for the telrad riser I used before. And I can swap out various optical finder, RDF, telrads as I see fit.

#4 tag1260

tag1260

Apollo

• Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 29 January 2013 - 03:00 PM

I'm using double sided tape and it's holding just fine.
Tag

#5 Kildar13x

Kildar13x

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 29 January 2013 - 04:23 PM