• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 foste1cc

foste1cc

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Armada, MI

Posted 30 January 2013 - 06:01 PM

hey everyone, i'm looking into buying my first equatorial mount for AP. I'm not looking into getting anything extremely fancy or pricey yet, just something that can polar align and track well for AP. As of now, i have a SCT 8SE on an Alt/Az mount and i know trying this setup for AP would be a headache and a half with the field rotation and poor gear design. would the celestron CG5-GT be a decent mount to start out with? I don't have anything over a $1,000, preferably i'd like to spend more like $700-ish range. I noticed Meade makes a similar mount, and i've seen more for under a grand. I was thinking of possibly buying used for nicer mounts if they're not too much $ if you guys think that'd be the way to go. but all input and advice is welcome! i'm a newbie with AP and equatorial mounts. So what do you guys think?? thanks in advance!

Carl

#2 mega256

mega256

Viking 1

• Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 30 January 2013 - 06:23 PM

Used may well be the best way for you to go!
Iv seen many Atlas/EQ6 mounts used that are around
$900.I would highly recomend this because there
is alot of info and parts for this mount.It would do
a good job with your C8.Just keep your eye out and try
to find a newer one.There will be less to work on,if
needed with one just a few years old or less.The Atlas
come up alot on this site and am.The mount is built heavy duty and alot can be done with mods if you like.It will handle a bigger scope if you decide to get one latter.
Also EQmod software is free and works with this mount.

#3 neptun2

neptun2

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Bulgaria

Posted 30 January 2013 - 08:37 PM