Jump to content


Photo

Orion Sirius GPS

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 theflop

theflop

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Ortonville, MI

Posted 02 February 2013 - 01:57 AM

Is there an aftermarket way to add a GPS module to the Orion Sirius mount? The modules I've been finding are expensive. Any ways to adapt an off-the-shelf GPS unit to the mount?

#2 MikeML

MikeML

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 509
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2004
  • Loc: NJ

Posted 02 February 2013 - 06:43 AM

Try this, works fine.

http://www.stargps.ca/

#3 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15766
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:54 AM

The Star GPS is OK...but do you really want to spend a hundred bucks on a gadget that is only going to save you a few key presses? It will NOT make your alignments more accurate, and you will probably have a GPS with you anyway in the form of a smartphone...

#4 theflop

theflop

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Ortonville, MI

Posted 02 February 2013 - 09:18 AM

That is why I asked. They sell very cheap GPS units now. I was hoping for a $30 solution. Perhaps I'll design one myself... they sell GPS transmitters and receiver modules (on a PCB) so maybe I'll invent one. Thank you.

#5 neptun2

neptun2

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 988
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2007
  • Loc: Bulgaria

Posted 02 February 2013 - 10:25 AM

I am not sure if generic gps will be recognized by the synscan. Maybe not.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics