Jump to content


Photo

AP 900 CP2 vs. CP3

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 dan17

dan17

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2009

Posted 02 February 2013 - 04:53 PM

Hi,
Considering to buy used AP 900 CP2 GTO mount. But can not find any info about it. There is only CP3 manual on AP website.
Can you tell me the differences please?

#2 Mike Clemens

Mike Clemens

    Frozen to Eyepiece

  • *****
  • Posts: 7577
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Alaska, USA

Posted 02 February 2013 - 07:19 PM

Linking into the AP website is a pain.

Go here:
http://www.astro-phy...rive/servodrive

Ctrl-F Search for
"The GTOCP3 can be purchased as an upgrade"
and follow the link, which describes the CP3 additions.


#3 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5486
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 02 February 2013 - 10:47 PM

an extremely similar question was asked not long ago..

http://www.cloudynig...5638090/page...

#4 dan17

dan17

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2009

Posted 03 February 2013 - 03:29 AM

Aww, I have been blind. Found it. But one thing is still not clear. Is there permanent periodic error correction available with CP2? Or I will have to record it every time?

#5 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5486
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 03 February 2013 - 03:53 AM

It is permanent. It just needs to be trained using the autoguider input, if I understand Ray correctly. Meaning there is no "direct upload" mode.

That said, direct upload is just as slow as using the AG input because there are almost 1000 PEC cells.

Did you nab the $5100 AP900GTO-CP2 on the mart? best deal I've seen ever. :shocked:

The CP3 controller itself can be bought for $1000.

#6 dan17

dan17

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2009

Posted 03 February 2013 - 06:58 AM

Thank You very much Orlyandico for short and detailed explanation. The mount I am considering is in Europe, me also, and for much more money. As everything made in US cost twice here unfortunately.

#7 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5486
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:23 AM

did you see the 3000 EUR Gemini G41 being sold on the mart? 3500 including Pulsar controller but no handset. ad# 807848

Might also be an option. I know if I had seen that G41 ad before I got my Mach1, I would have seriously considered it.

#8 dan17

dan17

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2009

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:28 PM

Well............AstroPhysics looks serious as it sounds ;)






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics