Jump to content


Photo

Update Firmware on my 6" ASGT?

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Sean13

Sean13

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 205
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2012
  • Loc: North Platte, Nebraska

Posted 02 February 2013 - 07:35 PM

I am having some trouble trying to update my firmware on my CG-5. I have a Nexstar controller, it doesn't say Nexstar+, so i'm guessing its the older one. I downloaded Celestron's Firmware Manager, but it doesn't detect the scope and says I need to power it on while holding down the Celestron logo key and the menu key at the same time. I don't have the celestron logo on my keypad and my menu isn't in the same location its showing in the picture. How am I supposed to go about updating a normal Nexstar HC and MC firmware?

#2 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4558
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 02 February 2013 - 07:48 PM

You need the older Celestron update program HC Updater.

http://www.celestron...a=viewdownlo...,7

...and the MC Updater;

http://www.celestron...a=viewdownlo...,7

Stan

#3 Sean13

Sean13

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 205
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2012
  • Loc: North Platte, Nebraska

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:10 PM

Getting an error saying Celestron HCupdate is not allowed to run on Win (6.2) Setup Aborted.

I'm running Windows 8 btw

#4 cn register 5

cn register 5

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2012

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:39 PM

I might run in some W7 compatibility mode, otherwise contact Celeston.

Chris

#5 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4558
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:44 PM

The HC and MC programs will not run on W8. You need to use the compatibility mode and run in 'Previous versions'.

Stan

http://www.celestron...se&_a=viewar...,255






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics