Jump to content


Photo

Canon 6D Wifi for Hyperstar Imaging

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 JMW

JMW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1386
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Nevada

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:14 PM

I own a 7D and I currently image with a STT-8300m pro+ package. I was thinking about getting a Canon 6D to complement my 7D. It allows shooting via wifi. I thought it would be a good solution for Hyperstar imaging with my C11 EdgeHD. The would be no diffraction spikes due to the cables. I could create a round mask to match the long dimension of a Canon 6D and controll it via wifi. I would probably have to crop the edge of the corners to deal with limitations of Hyperstar. It would also allow me to do extreme widefield shots with my AT-65EDQ camera since it has a full frame sensor. The darks of the 6D look pretty impressive.

#2 Mike Clemens

Mike Clemens

    Frozen to Eyepiece

  • *****
  • Posts: 7574
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Alaska, USA

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:26 PM

I have done some long exposures (7.75 mins oddly enough) on the 6D using a USB cable. Only because wifi wouldn't reach my home from the scope pier. What you suggest will work fine with the Canon remote control app. I haven't done long exposures from the Android app yet. I think I'll give it a try.

#3 Mike Clemens

Mike Clemens

    Frozen to Eyepiece

  • *****
  • Posts: 7574
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Alaska, USA

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:40 PM

OK Y with the USB tether I can start an exposure, walk away and then come back and stop it. With the Android app I have to hold my finger on the screen until I am done with the exposure. If either of these let you just punch in an exposure length ( 10 minutes, GO ) I haven't seen how.

#4 JMW

JMW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1386
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Nevada

Posted 02 February 2013 - 10:01 PM

Can you focus on the laptop screen using wifi and the Canon remote control app?

#5 Mike Clemens

Mike Clemens

    Frozen to Eyepiece

  • *****
  • Posts: 7574
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Alaska, USA

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:28 AM

Can you focus on the laptop screen using wifi and the Canon remote control app?


Yes you could focus on a laptop screen, a face, a tree or any object really.

(OK just kidding I know what you are asking.)

Yes, from the PC, I was able to run "Live View Shoot", and was able to focus on anything anywhere in the frame, not just over a focus point of the camera.

I just focused on something in the extreme lower right of the frame and it racked the lens in and out until it found best focus.

#6 JMW

JMW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1386
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Nevada

Posted 03 February 2013 - 03:34 AM

Well I just ordered a 6D with the 24-105 IS F4 Lens. Looking forward to using it as a full frame camera for astro and regular photos.

#7 nofxrx

nofxrx

    Vendor (HyperCams & Mods)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5241
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Palm Bay,Florida

Posted 03 February 2013 - 11:03 PM

Cant say much about the HyperStar imaging..but
The 65Q will give you a nearly PERFECTLY flat FOV with the full frame sensor. It is massive! just awesome!
My biggest regret in ALL of my gear purchases and sales(and there have been a LOT! ;) was selling the 65Q!
With the 5D Mark II I had at the time, that combo was simply amazing.
I could only imagine the wonderful images possible with the 6D(which is even better than the 5DII) and a HyperStar C11.. :bigshock:

And it will compliment your 7D very well.

Good luck!

FWIW, Here is a HH & Flame to M78/Barnard's Loop I shot using that combo above..UNcropped..
***HERE***
(check out the "original" image..)
and here is a **100%** crop from that image!!
***100% Crop***

Not that these are the best images or anything, but they will show you how well the scope takes a Full Frame sensor without any special FF's,etc..it is pretty amazing for only ~$500-600!
Dangit I miss that scope...guess it is time to buy another one LOL

Good luck!

#8 Mike Clemens

Mike Clemens

    Frozen to Eyepiece

  • *****
  • Posts: 7574
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Alaska, USA

Posted 03 February 2013 - 11:33 PM

Wow holy cow, that's nice Brent

#9 JMW

JMW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1386
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Nevada

Posted 04 February 2013 - 05:01 PM

Thanks for the word on the full frame with the AT65EDQ. My favorite shot last summer was the north america and pelican. Here's an H alpha last summer with an SBIG STF-8300m camera using the AT65EDQ . It would have been fun going wider.

Was your 5D mark II modified for astronomy when you took your HH&flame pict?

Attached Files



#10 nofxrx

nofxrx

    Vendor (HyperCams & Mods)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5241
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Palm Bay,Florida

Posted 06 February 2013 - 08:57 PM

Was your 5D mark II modified for astronomy when you took your HH&flame pict?


First off, GREAT shot!! That really is a well done image of that area. congrats!

Yes, my cameras get modified within days of me receiving them! lol
The only time I have not done that was with my latest current camera, the Nikon D800.
And believe me, I wanted to modify that camera for months...it was torture..lol
But, it is modified now.

And this was only done because I wanted to take some (2-3k) shots pre-mod so that I could replicate some of them again post-mod and see how they compared(for personal reasons, and also to test the camera for AP for posting online.)
This was done ONLY for daytime though..I wasnt able to take any pre-mod AP image due to my mount being on the fritz...I wanted to see what the differences and performance would be for daytime without the AA filter (meaning this camera now performs like a D800E, but is ALSO perfect for AP allowing 100% Ha transmission ;)

Now I just need some clear skies and a working GEM to test the D800 for AP... :tonofbricks:
I have seen a couple people using the stock D800 for AP and the results are actually quite amazing...


Sorry for taking your thread OT! :poke: :grin:

#11 JMW

JMW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1386
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Nevada

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:20 PM

Thanks for the compliment. I am going to start just using the camera with wide Canon lens. I won't do Hyperstar until the summer months when I have time to take my AP900 away to rural sites for multiple nights of imaging. Until then I can take my 6D on a small camera EQ tracker while I observe with my TEC-140 at nearby darker sites. I really can't do wide field at my house in Reno unless it's HA to avoid the light pollution.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics