Photo

New refractor OTA. Length - keep options open?

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 GHarris

GHarris

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:46 AM

I'm in the process of ordering a new 6 inch f/8 ED refractor. I'm having a non-standard OTA made so one option I'm considering is to have a shorter OTA to accommodate binoviewing. I then wouldn't always need barlows or any of the power-adjusting doohickeys that binoviewers often require on "normal" OTA lengths to come to focus. But I have no experience with telescope binoviewers, I just know that I enjoy using binoculars a lot and the idea sounds interesting to me.

I'd normally do the respectful thing - do a heck of a lot of reading on past topics on this forum before asking questions, if I even still need to ask after properly "doing my homework", but I'm not sure how much time I have before I have to confirm the specs of this new OTA for it to be built. So I'd appreciate any advice you can spare the time to give and I hope you'll forgive my ignorance.

I understand that for planetary/lunar viewing I might quite possibly want to use barlows etc. regardless because it's a bad idea to use sub-10mm focal length eyepieces in binoviewers (and I'd want to use, say, 200x magnification), and that this fixes the problem of back focus requirements for high magnification BVing. So if I understand this correctly, the only advantage of the short OTA is to permit binoviewing with lower powers/wider tFOVs. I'm wondering, therefore, how the advantages and disadvantages (of keeping open the option of wide field binoviewing) stack up.

The broad areas of uncertainty for me are: