• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 foste1cc

foste1cc

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Armada, MI

Posted 03 February 2013 - 01:48 PM

hey everyone. i'm new to AP and just ordered my first equatorial mount (celestron AVX). I know that everyone says to guide these SCTs with an off-axis guider. but i also heard that those are very hard to use for beginners. so my question is,
Have any of you had any luck guiding your SCTs with a guidescope? or do you run into the problems like mirror flop and flexure they talk about?
and also, could someone explain to a beginner like me, exactly what mirror flop and flexure are and how they're caused? i have an idea, but i want to know these things. :cool:

#2 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

Voyager 1

• Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 03 February 2013 - 03:17 PM

Hi foste1cc:

Well, there's mirror flop and there's mirror shift. Both are due to the same underlying construction of the SCT where the mirror is glued to a tube in it's center, and this tube is slipped over a second tube which is fixed to the rear cell of the SCT. The two tubes slide relative to each other for focusing and have grease between them to allow them to move smoothly. But, the two cannot be an exact fit or it would not move so there is a slight difference in their diameters. This allows the mirror to move sideways a very small amount if force is applied one way or the other.

When an SCT is used on a GEM mount and it moves across the meridian, the shift in the mirror's weight from one side to the other causes it to flop from one side to the other to take up the slop between the two tubes. That is called mirror flop and it only happens when moving through the meridian.