Viewing conditions Westchester County NY

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Ken M.

Ken M.

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 03 February 2013 - 04:32 PM

I am a beginner and have been looking at scopes and I spoke to a local amateur who said that in this general area (Northern Westchester 45 miles north of NYC) the skies are only clear in winter when its very cold outside. For the rest of the year and especially in the summer conditions for decent viewing are very poor. I only really started paying attention to the skies at the start of the winter and i was impressed by how clear the sky was and this started me thinking about pursuing this hobby. The advice given to me has made me question my purchase of a telescope so i'd be interested to hear from someone who can confirm or refute this information given to me.

Thanks,
Ken

#2 Tony Flanders

Tony Flanders

Voyager 1

• Loc: Cambridge, MA, USA

Posted 03 February 2013 - 04:41 PM

I am a beginner and have been looking at scopes and I spoke to a local amateur who said that in this general area (Northern Westchester 45 miles north of NYC) the skies are only clear in winter when its very cold outside. For the rest of the year and especially in the summer conditions for decent viewing are very poor.

Westchester County's no different from anywhere else in the Northeast -- except that it doesn't get the lake-effect clouds that plague areas along Lake Erie and Ontario.

Winter generally has good transparency (clear air) when it's not cloudy -- but so do September and October. And good transparency is not especially rare in any season, except July and early August.

As a rule, the most transparent nights are the coldest ones, when a Canadian air mass is coming in from the northwest. But there are exceptions; occasionally you get warm winter nights with good transparency, too.