• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Ricky

Ricky

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Nor Cal

Posted 05 February 2013 - 03:27 PM

Hi All,
Im looking to replace the set screws that allow one to adjust the polar alignment reticule on the Sirius Heq5 mount with equivalent thumb screws instead. Ive found out that the screws are 1.5mm...is that pitch? Im a newbie on screw specs. Does someone have info. on this and/or know where to find such replacement screws? :bow:

#2 don clement

don clement

Vendor (Clement Focuser)

• -----
  • Vendors
  • Loc: Running Springs, California

Posted 05 February 2013 - 03:38 PM

This should help. http://www.wisc-onli...802/mlt5802.htm

Don Clement

#3 Pinbout

Pinbout

Cosmos

• Loc: nj

Posted 05 February 2013 - 03:56 PM

I used socket head allen caps screws from Home Depot, the head is big enough to grab with my fingers so I didn't press fit a knob on it.

#4 Ricky

Ricky

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 05 February 2013 - 04:06 PM

@Don...thanks for the link!

@Danny...did u do this replacement on your Sirius mount? If so, could you link the specific item at depot? Thanks much!

#5 Pinbout

Pinbout

Cosmos

Posted 05 February 2013 - 04:20 PM

a cg5, it had a standar metric thread just took the set screw in and matched the thread and body dia.

scopestuff sell replacements for $16

#6 Ricky

Ricky

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 05 February 2013 - 04:23 PM

Thanks Danny! Ill check depot out.

#7 Geo.

Geo.

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 06 February 2013 - 09:55 AM

Doubt they're 1.5mm. Possibly 1.6, but I'd think 2.5 or 3 are more likely. At these sizes there are no thread pitch options. Find someone with a tap set to get a sure match. A good Ace will have a selection of metric fastners. I go to Richard Russo's hometown for the best selection in my area. Look for an ACE in an industrial area.

#8 Gordon Rayner

Gordon Rayner

Vanguard

Posted 06 February 2013 - 07:25 PM