Photo

Intro and question...What's my ETX-90 worth?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Ben J S

Ben J S

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 06 February 2013 - 12:18 PM

Hello,
My name is Ben, I'm new to the site, and this is my first post/introduction. I currently own a Meade ETX-90 with Auto Star. I’ve had it for several years but haven’t gotten as much use out of it as I’d of liked so I’m still a beginner. Unfortunately when I initially bought it I failed to realize my situation wasn’t ideal for using a telescope. I almost immediately found that traveling a significant distance to a good viewing spot (due to BAD light pollution) and waiting for the scope to cool down when I got there made things a bigger ordeal than I would be able to partake in. The interest never died, I just couldn’t find the time.

A recent move has put me in a much better position to do more observing, and these days I have more free time so my interest has grown stronger than ever. My new living situation has tons of room for storage, and great viewing conditions right in my back yard. All that being said, I am starting from square one by pursuing a bigger less portable scope (8” Dob).

The question is how much is my ETX-90 Worth? I have used it only a few times and it’s in excellent shape. I bought it around 2002 (not 100% sure there) and within a month it was put in a foam packed hard case (which I’m keeping for other uses), and stored in the basement where it was always cool and dry due to the fact that we run a dehumidifier 24/7. I always expected to use it again, but never did and it’s been there ever since. I broke it out for testing last week and it still looks and works like new. I will be selling it with the #884 Tripod, the Autostar controller, the standard controller, a dew shield, a 26MM EP, and a power cord that can be plugged into a regular outlet or a cigarette lighter.