Pier for rooftop observatory

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 musicos

musicos

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 09 February 2013 - 02:04 PM

Hi, I want to put close to 800lbs of gear (mount, photographic newton,...) on a pier 13.5' above ground. Ground is hard clay. We live in southern France, there is close to no frost zone. I wonder if it would be better to dig a deep foundation, or a large foundation. Also, I wonder about the dimensioning of the pier. I thought about a foundation 5x5', 3' deep (but I could do also 4x4', 5' deep). Then, a concrete column up to 8' above ground (size 2x2'). Finally, a 6' steel column, bolted on the concrete column, diameter approx 1', filled with sand. There are also ideas about building an enormeous tripod (or quadrupod), out of steel parts, from ground to top ("Eiffel tower"), or building a brick chimney and filling it only with sand (but how to fix the mount on it). My major issue concerns vibrations. Also, if I could find a solution which might be dismountable one day would be nice, but that is second priority. My observatory will be at the end in the 3rd floor of the atelier of my wife (who is a painter). I'll have to insulate it very well from heat influences...
You see, many questions, I'd be more than happy to get your different ideas and opinions.

best regards and a nice weekend

Torsten

#2 Lorence

Lorence

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 09 February 2013 - 03:19 PM

Hi, I want to put close to 800lbs of gear (mount, photographic newton,...) on a pier 13.5' above ground. Ground is hard clay. We live in southern France, there is close to no frost zone. I wonder if it would be better to dig a deep foundation, or a large foundation.

Torsten

They have been building stone fireplaces and chimneys for thousands of years in your part of the world. Many of them are still standing. Some not to far from where you are.