Jump to content


Photo

Orion Atlas Pro AZ/EQ-G Computerized GoTo Mount

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 RobertED

RobertED

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2003
  • Loc: Smithfield, RI

Posted 10 February 2013 - 09:04 AM

Any reports from users yet????

#2 StephenW

StephenW

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2005
  • Loc: San Jose, CA

Posted 10 February 2013 - 01:43 PM

They haven't shipped yet - latest estimate is the 16th.

I'm eagerly waiting to get my hands on mine :)

#3 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15557
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 01:49 PM

Right. But it is the same as the SkyWatcher branded version, which has been in the hands of users for a while.

OP: There are several threads about it...try a good search.

#4 RobertED

RobertED

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3199
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2003
  • Loc: Smithfield, RI

Posted 11 February 2013 - 02:36 PM

Thanks Uncle Rod!!

#5 Diver

Diver

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2012

Posted 10 April 2013 - 10:07 AM

I recently got mine and I have to say I am impressed.

Once my ATRC8 show up I will see how well it works.

Two things:

The power read out is incorrect and shows 20 volts.

The polor scope 'cones' and is not exactly centered. You can center the cross hairs and it is not out of center very much.

More to come!

#6 Mike X.

Mike X.

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 808
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2010
  • Loc: Greece-Athens and Rome-Italy

Posted 10 April 2013 - 12:12 PM

I had the same reading on my first hand controller on my azeq6gt.I changed it under guarantee.
The new one shows the voltage as it should.
11.9v.
Anyhow it's only a matter of the internal voltmeter most probably.

#7 SkyHound

SkyHound

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 307
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2005
  • Loc: Dark Skies Il.

Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:02 PM

Got nothing but good to say..I can now move the scope manually around the sky and use the Goto if I want all at the same time with out loosing the alinement..Feels like the old days..

Attached Files



#8 charlesL

charlesL

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Davie, Florida

Posted 11 November 2013 - 04:26 PM

got mine last week and was able to use eqmod with no issues. guides like a champ too.
very nice mount

#9 LauraMS

LauraMS

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2011
  • Loc: Germany

Posted 14 November 2013 - 07:45 AM

I have one (Skywatcher) since several months and like it. I use it with a NexStar 8Se, sometimes with an additonal PST solar scope on a double mount (see attachment). It is rock solid with this setup - just great after using the SE mount for years. But that's not to blame the SE mount, btw: I bought that because of its portability - and here the AZ/EQ-G is on the really heavy side, I don't like carrying it the few meters but have to. Maybe I should go the gym more often ;-) . But one really has to decide what is needed - portability or stability.

Comparing the Skywatcher handcontroller to the Celestron I realized that it is much more difficult to find alignment stars (much fewer in the Skywatcher) than with my SE mount. Under polluted sky and with restricted views it is not always that easy to find alignment stars - and one needs to know their names (other than with Celestron) ... Moreover, right after I bought the mount I upgraded to the latest (3.35) software version which turns out to have been a bad decision with regard to pointing. Maybe I will downgrade again in the near future.

Another drawback is that the handcontroller appears not allow for alignment to the sun (for solar work).

I do know that there is a lot of extra software (e.g., EQMOD) and work-arounds, but I think products should work well just out of the box.

I had the bad voltage reading as well but there is a fix for that on the Skywatcher webpage (use fix only if you have that problem).

This sounds like I am not happy with the mount, but that's not true. I am certainly pampered by the easier handling of the Celestron handcontroller which is just much more convenient. However, I really like the stability when doing planetary imaging using a small field of view cam, or when I am collimating the NexStar 8SE (also with a webcam for observation of the infocus and out-of-focus images) and just nothing wobbles.

So for me (a casual observer, but used to precision instruments in my professional work) this is a very nice, solid and well built mount, but it certainly has some potential to improve with regard to handling.

Hope this helps

Laura

Attached Files



#10 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 19 January 2014 - 12:26 AM

Can you use this with a 42 inch 23 pound refractor in AZ position, is the telescope to long for this mount. I have a AR152

#11 epdreher

epdreher

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Republic of Texas

Posted 19 January 2014 - 01:24 AM

The mount will easily handle your refractor.

#12 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:22 AM

Thanks for the reply, for the AR152, would this mount require a pier extension in order not to hit the tripod legs at zenith? Have been doing tons of homework before I invest in a mount for this scope. I'm also looking into the future, so I will be able to handle SCT's and/or other scopes as well..

#13 wargrafix

wargrafix

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 439
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2013
  • Loc: Trinidad

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:35 AM

I have heard the solar alignment may have to be enabled but I can't confirm that for certain. Alot of handset lock it for safety reasons.

#14 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 20 January 2014 - 05:34 AM

I have heard the solar alignment may have to be enabled but I can't confirm that for certain. A lot of handset lock it for safety reasons.


I have the Skywatcher version of this mount and there is no option to enable the Sun. In fact the Sun is not even an object that you can slew to which is a shame. You would have to choose an object such as Mercury to get somewhat close and then adjust from there. Another option is to have the auxiliary encoders enabled, set the scope at zero-Az/zero-Alt and set that as the "Home" position, then if you know what the Alt&Az position of the Sun is, you can slew or manually move the scope to match those numbers on the hand controller.

JohnD

#15 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 22 January 2014 - 02:37 PM

Orion is now taking orders again for this mount, it does not ship until Feb, and so it’s time to decide whether or not this is the right mounts for my AR152... I'm thinking... :( :confused:

#16 SkyHound

SkyHound

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 307
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2005
  • Loc: Dark Skies Il.

Posted 26 March 2014 - 06:49 PM

Mark,
I've been using mine for imaging with a 130mm refractor and a 80 mm guide scope for a year and I can only say it works as well as my G11 with this load.. Total load 40 lbs.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics