• Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 john@dps

john@dps

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Granada Hills, CA

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:14 PM

Hi all, I'm a noob and wanted opinions on getting a 10" or 12" for my back yard red zone in LA. I have a 80mm orion right now that i play with in my backyard, 90% of viewing is done there. Im lazy and like to just pull it out and look. The dob will be stored in my detached garage so cool down will not be a problem however the difference in price between the orion 10g and 12g is 500 clams and i really dont want to waste the money if the red zone is going to keep me from resolving good views. And besides a 10g and a paracorr equal just the 12g by itself. Thanks all in advance. I'm also still young and strapping enough to muscle both so weight isn't an issue.

#2 Raginar

Raginar

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:19 PM

Welcome to CN!!! :)

The difference isn't going to be where you live but really what you want to deal with weight-wise. A 12" dob (solid tube) is listed on Orion's website @ nearly 83#. I'm sure a 10" is a little better than that.

Size matters for resolving detail but if it hinders you dragging it outside.. and I realize you think 80# won't bother you... trust me, it gets old and will detract from you using your scope. I'm military, healthy, and it caused me to build a ROR shed so I didn't have to setup constantly!

#3 john@dps

john@dps

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:23 PM

i'm putting it on wheels so i dont even have to lift it.

#4 john@dps

john@dps

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:26 PM

My real concern is the extra money for the 12 if it is not going to be worth the money in my LA backyard

#5 Madratter

Madratter

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:34 PM