Jump to content


Photo

Motor on a Mizar EQ Mount

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 grade1

grade1

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2013
  • Loc: Southern Luzon, Philippines

Posted 11 February 2013 - 08:52 PM

Hi all,
I've recently bought a Mizar EQ Mount and I wish to have put a motor on the RA. However, I do not really know which motors will work with it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attached Files



#2 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5291
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 12 February 2013 - 04:12 AM

I believe this is the Japanese original which eventually morphed into the CG-3 / EQ-4 mount.

It does not seem to have the threaded hole in the housing for attaching a motor. Do you have a photo of the other side?

#3 grade1

grade1

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2013
  • Loc: Southern Luzon, Philippines

Posted 12 February 2013 - 08:10 AM

yes, this seems to be a precursor to the more modern mounts. if i got it right, this is also the same mount sold with the Meade 6600/8800 series reflectors.. anyways, here's a photo of the other side.

Attached Files



#4 CharlieB

CharlieB

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2010
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2007
  • Loc: Southern NH

Posted 12 February 2013 - 12:29 PM

I have a similar mount and it's fitted with an Orion AccuTrack SVD 9v drive. The bracket that holds it attaches to one of the bolts that holds the RA worm in place. It works fine and the speed is adjustable. You can still find these used, but they are not in production any longer.

#5 EJN

EJN

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2142
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2005
  • Loc: 53 miles west of Venus

Posted 12 February 2013 - 12:42 PM

Mine is from a Meade 6600, and uses the Meade quartz motor. Unfortunately, the
Meade motor is only available used if you can find one.

Attached Files



#6 grade1

grade1

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2013
  • Loc: Southern Luzon, Philippines

Posted 12 February 2013 - 04:45 PM

Thanks all! Is it possible though to adapt---DIY style--- a newer motor to it, say the basic Celestron logic drive or maybe the EQ3M single-axis? Or has anyone tried it? Shame to see a pretty rock solid mount not get motorized...

#7 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5291
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:56 PM

anything is possible :D as to how much effort.. i don't know.

also depends on whether you're willing to drill and tap a new hole in that mount. otherwise finding a handy bolt (or bolt-hole) to attach the drive will be a challenge.

If you don't already know, the folks at www.astroleaguephils.org would be closer and would be able to help you.

p.s. that back wall looks familiar.. is that one of Alex's specials? :grin: hope you didn't pay too much for it.

#8 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5291
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:32 PM

add-on: looks like the motor drive attaches to the big shiny metal post in your first image.

so if you could get an aluminum block, perhaps 1" x 1" x 2" in size, then drill a hole through the long axis which is exactly the same diameter as the shiny metal post... then you could fit the block over the post.

drill a hole in the block at right angles to the big hole and tap it. Now you have a set-screw that can fix the aluminum block to the post.

Drill and tap another set of holes in the block so you can attach an aluminum plate to it. Then whatever motor you choose, you can attach to said plate.

contact this guy - he does a lot of DIY and he fabricated the low-latitude wedge for my AP600. He's based in Manila.

http://nightskyinfocus.com/

#9 grade1

grade1

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2013
  • Loc: Southern Luzon, Philippines

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:30 AM

Yes it did come from alex.. Wow that wall must be pretty well known. Haha.
Thanks for the advice re drilling and tapping too. I actually wanted to know if i could do that without binning the mount. I do have limited access to the machine shop at my university, but not the necessary skills! Oh, I'm a frequent visitor to nightskyinfocus and am pretty awed by Anthony's work, although I haven't really been in touch with the people from ALP as I live far from Manila and spent most of my time in the countryside (however, that means plenty of dark sky nights for me).
Thanks again, mabuhay!

#10 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5291
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:13 AM

Yes that wall is pretty well known :D It's on all of Alex's ad posts.

Where exactly in Central Luzon are you?

#11 grade1

grade1

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2013
  • Loc: Southern Luzon, Philippines

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:31 AM

I spend my weekdays in Silang, Cavite. It's quite close to Tagaytay City. It really is not that far from Manila, but I spend most of my weekends deeper in the provinces of Batangas, Cavite, and sometimes even Quezon.

#12 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5291
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:57 AM

that's actually southern Luzon I believe.. central is to the north. But I digress. There seem to be a good number of folks in the southern area. In any case.. yeah looks like that mount will require some engineering. I'd take it on as a challenge if I were there, but alas I'm not.

#13 grade1

grade1

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2013
  • Loc: Southern Luzon, Philippines

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:38 AM

Southern Luzon, yessir. Haha My bad. Central Luzon would be Tarlac and Pampanga. Thanks for pointing that out. I'll see what I can do with the mount, I'm pretty optimistic about working on it!






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics