Funky diffraction spikes

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Hilmi

Hilmi

Soyuz

• Loc: Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:12 PM

I'm new to the DSLR and lens imaging scene having only recived my Polarie last night. I'd never bothered to piggy back my DSLR before. So now I am getting started with DSLR and Canon EF 100 F2 USM lens and the I'm getting some really funky diffraction spikes, or maybe I should call them distraction spikes. Is there anything I can do to reduce them?

Attached Files

#2 bouffetout

bouffetout

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:27 PM

I think you have to go to f/4 or f/5.6 to prevent this from happening...

#3 pfile

pfile

Gemini

• -----

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:28 PM

i'm assuming you were not running at f/2? if you are stopped down, that's normal - it is because the internal diaphragm is not perfectly round but has some number (maybe 4 or 8) curved 'blades'.

you can stop down externally with a step-down ring. that should avoid the spikes.

if you pixel peep those widefields i did in the CCD group, you'll see that the spikes are there even though the lens is wide open. they are not as pronounced, but they are there. apparently the diaphragm does not open all the way up.

#4 nwinston

nwinston

Ranger 4

• Loc: Maryland, USA

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:29 PM

Don't worry, diffraction spikes like that are normal for camera lenses. They are caused by the aperture blades in the lens.
I'm not sure of any way to reduce the spikes other than use the lens wide open, but I wouldn't recommend doing that because it reduces image quality.

#5 Hilmi

Hilmi

Soyuz

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:34 PM

Yeah, I had the lens stopped down to F4, it's got 8 leaves in the diaphragm. I did try to image at F2, but I found it extremely difficult to focus. I started to have very obvious CA unless the focus was just perfect, which I found so difficult to achieve.