Photo

Mirror Star Test

• Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#1 garyp1936

garyp1936

Ranger 4

Posted 14 February 2013 - 11:10 AM

I have a new 10" Orion XT collimated with Catseye passive tools, but there seems to be a serious problem which, being a reflector newbie, I can't identify. During a star test the outside-of-focus pattern appears quite good, BUT the inside-of-focus is a white blob with uneven edges. My understanding is tht both outside and inside should be identical, or close to it. What is the problem and what needs to be done? I have had an 8SE for several years, and the DSO images of the 10" are clearly superior to those of the 8". The star test, however, results have me worried. Gary

#2 dpwoos

dpwoos

Apollo

• Loc: United States

Posted 14 February 2013 - 12:01 PM

How are your high-power views of Jupiter? If they are good then you can't have a serious optical problem.

The best way to understand the star test is to do it with folks who know what they are looking at. Your local astro club will have folks who can help you with this.

#3 stratocaster

stratocaster

Messenger

Posted 14 February 2013 - 12:31 PM

During a star test the outside-of-focus pattern appears quite good, BUT the inside-of-focus is a white blob with uneven edges.

Interesting. I had a similar experience with my stock 10" GSO mirror. I'm not a star testing authority by any means, so I don't know the technical implications of such a view. However, while my DSO views seemed quite impressive to me, my planetary and lunar views seemed soft - even under good skies.

It would be interesting to see your planetary/lunar impressions.

#4 nirvanix

nirvanix

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Saskatoon, SK

Posted 14 February 2013 - 12:44 PM