• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 saptharishi

saptharishi

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Bangalore, India

Posted 15 February 2013 - 12:24 PM

I am wondering why televue have not made their EPs water proof? Even their premium lines. Are there any practical disadvantages? Or impact on performance?

#2 csrlice12

csrlice12

Voyager 1

• Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 15 February 2013 - 01:26 PM

Without the purging, they dont float, they just drop to the bottom of the bathtub till they drown...where they become eyepieces for Televue's new OceanScope.......

#3 Jim Romanski

Jim Romanski

Vanguard

• Loc: Guilford, Connecticut

Posted 15 February 2013 - 02:39 PM

The only real advantage is to prevent internal fogging. I have seen some posts here on CN from observers in very humid areas that have had this happen. I've never had an eyepiece fog up on the inside and I've been observing for over 25 years.

Waterproofing is at the very bottom of my list of important qualities for an eyepiece. The only thing less important to me is whether an eyepiece is perceived to have a "cool" or "warm" color tone.

#4 johnnyha

johnnyha

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Sherman Oaks, CA

Posted 15 February 2013 - 03:23 PM

The only real advantage is to prevent internal fogging.

Another advantage to waterproofing is when you drop your eyepiece into water. The waterproof one will not be ruined.

#5 core

core

Apollo

• Loc: Mostly in Norman, OK

Posted 15 February 2013 - 03:48 PM

Something that most won't have to deal with is the possibility of fungal growth (think high humidity tropical). I had a couple of TV smoothies from 2 decades back that are affected, half dozen SLR lenses (bigger issue as they as move air when focusing or zooming), polar scopes, numerous binos, and a C8. You could of course minimize the problem with dry cabinets, but a purged and sealed unit would help a long ways.

#6 Jeff Morgan

Jeff Morgan

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Prescott, AZ