• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 taki53

taki53

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: NY

Posted 16 February 2013 - 09:42 AM

I'm just getting into astrophotography and was wondering about the use of a field flattner. I have a vixen 100ed sf f.9 900mm apo scope. I plan to use the canon 60D on a celestrom cg5 mount. Would a field flattner benefit? I have some idea how they work, but I would like to get a better understanding. Also what type/model would I need for my set up? Thanks!

#2 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

Refractor wienie no more

• Administrators
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:06 AM

At that focal length, a refractor has relatively mild curvature. Across a chip that size you would probably find it tolerable. I did, when I used similar rigs.

#3 taki53

taki53

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 16 February 2013 - 12:42 PM

Thanks! Please forgive me but I'm not quite sure what you mean.

#4 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

Refractor wienie no more

• Administrators
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 16 February 2013 - 12:52 PM

That telescope will have field curvature (every telescope has field curvature). The issue is how much curvature there is and how much of it will affect the image. How much there is, in a refractor, depends on the focal length of the objective. At 1000mm it isn't severe. The effect on an image depends on imaging chip size - for a given degree of field curvature the focus difference between the center and the edge depends on how far apart they are.

Your proposed setup involves a degree of field curvature across a chip size that most would consider acceptable. A shorter refractor or a larger chip would change that.

#5 zerro1

zerro1

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 16 February 2013 - 12:52 PM

I think he means that the flattener may or may not be completely needed.