• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 CharlesW

CharlesW

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Chula Vista & Indio, CA

Posted 17 February 2013 - 12:29 AM

I am new to the hobby and have been slowly learning how to integrate my hardware and software. Tonight I got PHD guiding for the first time on M42. It took about 12 minutes for PHD to go through the EWNS calibration before guiding. Then I took a sample image and had to reframe a little bit. That broke the guiding and I had to restart the EWNS for another 12 minutes. Does this happen everytime you need to reframe a shot or guide on a new star? Is there a way to make that process go any faster?

#2 fmhill

fmhill

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

Posted 17 February 2013 - 12:45 AM

You do not have to recalibrate the EWNS when you reframe, simply go back and recapture the guide star and then start the guiding again...

As to taking 12 minutes to do the EWNS calibration, if its taking 12 minutes instead of 2 to 4 minutes or less, you may need to change the calibration step size. This can also be affected by other settings in PHD, if you post the PHD parameters or screen shots of both the PHD guiding graph and the "Brain" settings page along with your guide scope and OTA information, then I can advise you as to adjusting settings in PHD...

#3 zerro1

zerro1

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 17 February 2013 - 01:17 AM

I'm using an older release of PHD, but once my system completes the calibration successfully, I would have to go into advanced settings and tick the checkbox "force calibration" before PHD would try to calibrate again.

did you completely shut PHD down?
What Guide Camera and guide scope are you using?
What Mount?

#4 CharlesW

CharlesW

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Chula Vista & Indio, CA

Posted 17 February 2013 - 01:42 AM