4 replies to this topic

#1 joetattoo

joetattoo

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Long Island, New York

Posted 17 February 2013 - 08:13 AM

Hi, All
Mostly through the information and expertise I've found on these pages, during the past year I've slowly been forming my collection, and if affordable, would really like to expand into viewing thin slice samples through a microscope. That is where my knowledge begins and ends. I've read that a polarizing stereo scope is what I need, but I don't even know how the term "stereo" pertains here. Also,are there places that sell prepared samples for viewing? I'm just a newbie looking for ways to further enjoy the hobby, so I can't justify spending as much as a good used car on a microscope. (my Wife's sense of humor about these things has definate boundaries. I'm still suffering for the last eyepiece I bought.) Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.
Best to all
Joe

#2 bob71741

bob71741

Apollo

Posted 17 February 2013 - 01:59 PM

Joe - Norton's (and Chitwood) "Field Guide to Meteors and Meteorites" has a section of about 36 pages on thin sections and microscopes; he also describes making your own simple petrographic microscope. If you do not own a copy, it might be worth it to check your local library.

#3 peter scherff

peter scherff

Ranger 4

• -----

Posted 17 February 2013 - 02:03 PM

Hi Joe,

The only real reason that you might want to get a polarizing scope is to view thin sections. Thin sections are specially prepared translucent samples of rock (meteorites) mounted on glass slides. Thin sections are very addictive, once you start looking at them, you will not be able to get enough.
Here is a photo of a thin section of Lodran:

Thanks,

Peter

Attached Files

#4 joetattoo

joetattoo

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Long Island, New York

Posted 18 February 2013 - 11:06 AM