Jump to content


Photo

StarSense for CG5?

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1399
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2011

Posted 17 February 2013 - 11:59 AM

Intrigued by this new Celestron StarSense thing, but kind of looks like it isn't compatible with the CG5. It is advertised to work with the newer VX series mounts, but not the older CG5 mounts. Curious if I could get confirmation on this, or how well it works.

#2 Raginar

Raginar

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 17 February 2013 - 12:15 PM

http://www.celestron...celestron-st...

Down at the bottom it says it only works with CGEMs.

#3 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15692
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 17 February 2013 - 12:23 PM

It doesn't say that at all. It says it _is_ compatible with the CG5. ;)

#4 dmdouglass

dmdouglass

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 759
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2007
  • Loc: Tempe, AZ

Posted 17 February 2013 - 01:13 PM

Uncle Rod speaks the truth (as usual) ....
From the Celestron Product Page:
http://www.celestron...-accessory.html

Attached Files



#5 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1399
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2011

Posted 17 February 2013 - 06:19 PM

Thanks guys!






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics