• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Wmacky

Wmacky

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Florida

Posted 24 February 2013 - 12:16 PM

I'm not sure if this is the best forum, but:

I'm loading the new observatory computer system with software, and my old gratis copy of Nexremote won't load on this new Win 7 machine. I get an error that it won't install on WinNT? Is a free update available?

Will this not work on a win7 machine?

Do I have other options to control my CGE classic mount from the warm room?

I'm just beginning imaging, and will be using a DSLR with BackyardEOS as will as PHD.

Not looking to spend a ton extra right now, but what are my options?

#2 Alex McConahay

Alex McConahay

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Moreno Valley, CA

Posted 24 February 2013 - 01:26 PM

If Nexremote is simply a program to monitor your laptop from a remote location, try tightvnc or teamviewer..

Alex

#3 mclewis1

mclewis1

Thread Killer

• Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 24 February 2013 - 01:33 PM

Download the latest version of NexRemote from the Celestron website (support/downloads/software) it works fine with Win7.

Any of popular planetarium programs can also control the mount from a PC (Stellarium, The Sky, Cartes du Ciel, etc.), some of these will also require the popular ASCOM platform and driver to provide the direct connection to the mount.

You have two options for connectivity ... via the serial port at the base of the hand controller or via the PC port on the mount. If you use the PC port on the mount you can unplug the hand controller. You'll need a serial cable (one of two different types from Celestron or home made) and likely a USB-serial adapter if your new PC doesn't have a real serial port.