• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Oscar56

Oscar56

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Summerland, BC

Posted 27 February 2013 - 11:41 PM

I am just getting started in this hobby, so far I have only binoculars, Nightwatch, CN and lots of cloud cover. But I have been doing plenty of reading on the internet and lots of window shopping on telescope sites for 8" and 10" Dobs.

Excluding hand built Dobsonians I am starting to suspect that all of the brand name Dobs are virtually the same. I am aware that they all start in 1 or 2 factories in China even if the paint job and labels may be different.

But are they really any different in optics and value? At the heart of a Dob is it not just a sono tube, parabolic mirror and 2ndary mirror? After that the various brands offer different EPs, focusers, target sights etc?

So if there is a "high end" of the 8" and 10" Dobs is it a function of the peripherals or does one brand use better mirrors as their starting point?

#2 Jason D

Jason D

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: California

Posted 27 February 2013 - 11:54 PM

You have custom made and mass produced made dobs. You are asking about the mass produced dobs. I would say you got it right. Most are more or less the same in terms of quality.

#3 kfiscus

kfiscus

Vanguard

• Loc: Albert Lea, MN, USA

Posted 28 February 2013 - 12:11 AM

The Chinese scopes are now steel tubes. As the OP has written, the price differences are from the accessories included with the rig. The optics tend to be incredible values. I currently own a 4.5, 6, 10, and two 12s.

#4 Oscar56

Oscar56

Ranger 4

• -----

Posted 28 February 2013 - 12:16 AM

You have custom made and mass produced made dobs.

And what is it about the custom made units that they command such a significant price differential?

#5 Jason D

Jason D

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 28 February 2013 - 12:22 AM

You have custom made and mass produced made dobs.