Jump to content


Photo

New iOtpron IEQ45-2013 alt/az dual mount

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Astronewb

Astronewb

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2011
  • Loc: Connecticut

Posted 28 February 2013 - 07:58 PM

New mounts are popping up all over the place. Here's a link I just grabbed from the iEQ45 group on Yahoo. Basically a slight design change in the iEQ45 to allow it to accept a alt/az adapter..??

http://www.altairast...&cat=266&page=1

Clear skies all,

Paul

#2 zjc26138

zjc26138

    Loved By All

  • *****
  • Posts: 8202
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2005
  • Loc: Mingo Junction, Ohio

Posted 28 February 2013 - 08:01 PM

Looks pretty cool!

#3 timmbottoni

timmbottoni

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1727
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2005
  • Loc: W Chicago suburbs, IL USA

Posted 28 February 2013 - 10:08 PM

I want one!!!!

#4 geminijk

geminijk

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 890
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2008
  • Loc: Murfreesboro, TN

Posted 01 March 2013 - 02:50 AM

Awesome!

John

#5 JMW

JMW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1413
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Nevada

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:01 PM

Is there an alt/az tracking dual mount that could handle a TEC 140 and a C11 EdgeHD together? I think that would be a cool setup for public outreach events.
I like the manual DM6 for myself, but sometimes tracking can allow you to add more magnification when doing public astronomy.

#6 mgwhittle

mgwhittle

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2011
  • Loc: Chattanooga, TN

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:53 PM

This means that this new mount tracks in DEC or in this case Altitude. That is different of course than the current mount but I wonder if a software upgrade could add that capability to the old mount.

#7 Bluejay08

Bluejay08

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2009

Posted 02 March 2013 - 03:55 PM

I think this one should be able to handle TEC 140 and C11 in A/A mode. The payload is 25kg +15kg. It is on a pier so should have enough clearance for TEC 140.

#8 JMW

JMW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1413
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Nevada

Posted 02 March 2013 - 06:30 PM

That would be great if that information is accurate. Did you find this information on another link? I saw 20.5 kg load capacity. Obviously I would be imaging on that mount in Alt/Az anyway, but I would like it to be steady at the eyepiece. I already use a AP900 for imaging.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics