Pocket Sky Atlas - Tips?

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Domerman

Domerman

Just Lucky, I Guess.

• Loc: PA

Posted 04 March 2013 - 02:29 AM

Ok, so I am not new to this hobby, however, I am fairly new to finding objects in the sky on my own. I have been spoiled by GOTO scopes and I've come to realize I know very little about how to find objects in the sky on my own. I've done quite a bit of astro-imaging and observing through the years, but ask me to point out a fairly well-known object in the sky without GOTO and I will look like a fool! :tonofbricks: :tonofbricks:

I got myself a PSA awhile back, but I have not really used it all too much..partly because it looks really intimidating. I can't seem to wrap my head around RA and declination and how the things on the map correlate to what I am seeing in the sky. I am so confused! I know RA is essentially longitudinal (and increases when you move east) and dec is latitude in the celestial sphere. I know simple things like celestial equator, zenith, prime meridian, nadir, ecliptical, but using the PSA to find things simply confuses the heck out of me! HELP! :confused: :confused:

#2 Tony Flanders

Tony Flanders

Voyager 1

• Loc: Cambridge, MA, USA

Posted 04 March 2013 - 04:42 AM

There are really two separate questions here: How celestial coordinates work, and how to find things in the sky using star charts. They're both worth learning, but neither one is necessary nor sufficient for understanding the other.

When I'm actually out there at night using the Pocket Sky Atlas, I don't think much about R.A. and Dec except for organizing my session and locating things in the PSA. I have a rough idea of the R.A. and Dec of all celestial objects, just as I have a rough idea of the latitude and longitude of every city and country on Earth. (Doesn't everyone? :o) That helps me flip quickly to the right page.