Laser on primary moves as focuser racked in/out

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 mtb54703

mtb54703

Viking 1

• Loc: Eau Claire, WI

Posted 04 March 2013 - 10:20 PM

I'm sure this qualifies as another dumb and obvious collimation question, but here goes... :)

I use a Glatter laser/tublug to collimate (I'm still learning the auto collimator) and I thought I had my focuser squared. I've got a spot marked on the inside of the UTA opposite the focuser that I placed by measuring equal distances from the center of the focuser around the inside of the UTA and equal distance up from the bottom edge of the UTA.

Using the laser I adjust the tilt of the focuser (FeatherTouch on an AstroSystems filter slide/focuser board) so the laser hits the spot, the re-install the secondary holder and align it with a sight tube.

Back with the laser in the focuser, I tweak the collimation screws until the laser hits the middle of the center marker on the primary (with the focuser racked all the way in).

Then if I rack the focuser all the way out - the dot on the primary moves. The best way I can describe which direction it moves is that if you imagine the line from the laser to secondary - project that line down to the primary - it moved along that line. Not much, just from center of the CatsEye hotspot hole to the edge.

This movement indicates that my mark on the inside of the UTA opposite the focuser needs to be either closer or further away from the bottom edge of the UTA.

As I've typed this all out I think I've explained this to myself, but I'll toss this out just to get a confirmation.

#2 DavidC

DavidC

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Mesa, Arizona

Posted 04 March 2013 - 11:50 PM