38 replies to this topic

#1 daveyfitz

daveyfitz

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Utah

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:01 PM

Well, as embarrassing as this is, I just had to share it:

I have been away from astronomy since I gave my old 6" Newt to my son.
I'm still a novice, but I want to get back into it, so I bought a shiny new Orion XT12g (dam that thing is big and heavy....).

It came with just a 28mm EP, so I also ordered one of the cheap 8-24mm zooms, thinking that will give me all the viewing I'll need for awhile.

So, I put 'er together, use the included peep hole to do a quick collimation, and head out into the yard for some viewing.

I was having a fine time, checking out some clusters and nebulae, and enjoyed Jupiter.

I went back inside to warm up and wait for the appearance of an old favorite, Saturn.

3 AM rolls around and I'm out to try a couple more globulars, then Saturn.
She looks great in the 28mm, so I put in the 8-24, and YIKES, I can hardly see anything. The image is dark, fuzzy, even at 24mm it looks like mud. I can barely see well enough to get focus.

Totally disheartened that the zoom EP turned out to be such a PIECE OF *BLEEP*, I tear down, go in the house and immediately get online to order the Baader 8-24 zoom.

Next morning, as I'm tinkering around with my scope stuff, I find my 1.25" adapter, and notice that I had stuck the collimation peep hole into the BACK of it. I remembered I had not wanted to lose it, so I just stuck it there while I was moving my scope.

I had been using my 8-24mm zoom with the peephole restricting the aperture to about 1/8".
I'm amazed I could see ANYTHING.....

Well, at least now I can do a comparison of the Celestron vs the Baader zoom.

Anybody else wanna share a bonehead move?

#2 GeneT

GeneT

Ely Kid

• Loc: South Texas

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:43 PM