Telescope Advice

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 jaimeruiz3

jaimeruiz3

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 07 March 2013 - 12:31 AM

Hi im new to Cloudy Nihts and i need some advice.
I want to get my first advanced telescope my others are a celestron 130 eq refractor and an alt-az 60 mm beginer, but i want to get a telescope that might get me a lot of fun and also being capable of some astrophotography. My first 2 options are the Celestron Advanced C6-SGT 6" SCT and the Celestron Nexstar 8SE both have its advantages and disadvantages i know for example the 8SE mount sucks for astrophotography other than planetary and the C6 is 2" smaller than the 8SE and i know also that the SE mount does not have an autoguider port and that both will need a focal leght reducer but what do you think is better? geting the 8SE and later get an EQ mount and aoutoguider? or get the C6 and later get a bigger OTA like the Orion 8" f/3.9 Newtonian Astrograph and autogider? i know the CG5 is not the best mount but the others are way out of my budget so im a bit confused please help! :confused:

#2 jaimeruiz3

jaimeruiz3

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 07 March 2013 - 01:25 AM

PD: I´ve seen than in BH there is also this one: http://www.bhphotovi...advancd_vx_8...
Its $100 cheaper than 8SE its 8" aperture and has advanced VX Mount for 1099 its good? I think it could be the best of both scopes. Any one knows how well does the 8" celestron newtonian performs?

#3 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

Aurora

• Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 07 March 2013 - 05:01 AM

If you want to do AP with it later and at the same price, I would suggest the 6"SCT VX. The VX mount has better AP capabilities than the CG-5 mount of the C6-SGT. If you go with the SE you may have a larger SCT, but it will cost you more to update it for AP later.

Stan

#4 jaimeruiz3

jaimeruiz3

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 07 March 2013 - 08:17 AM