Replace GM-8 Gemini I w/ Atlas?

• Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#1 Ranger Tim

Ranger Tim

Viking 1

• Loc: SE Idaho, USA

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:16 PM

I have had my GM-8 for a couple years and have never really gotten it dialed in so that PHD can use my SSAG to track well. Perhaps I am too picky, but my tracking always has some stupid fault that results in a high failure rate. I am shooting with a Canon on an AT6RC, 50mm guide finder (SSAG). I am not a beginner and am sure there are some issues with flexure that I need to address, but I have reached a point where the Losmandy is just not giving me the results I had anticipated. I do not have the money for a G-11 and would rather just sell to reinvest in an Atlas. I could then also pick up a NexSX board for my Sphinx. Any advice from the braintrust? It has gotten to the point where I haven't got the patience to get out there and image because of the frustration. Will I encounter the same amount of grief by switching mount platforms? I believe the Atlas will carry the load better and will give me a fresh start.

My GM-8 is in great shape and has a fine record of excellent go to accuracy with the Gemini, it just refuses to behave well when guiding with PHD. I don't intend to go back down the rabbit hole diagnosing the guiding issues but want to hear some push-back from Losmandy zealots and some urgings from Atlas enthusiasts. Here is an example of my last shot for a reference of what the GM-8 accomplishes. It is agony to get two full hours of data with no footballs.

Attached Files

#2 JoseBorrero

JoseBorrero

Gemini

• Loc: Puerto Rico Island

Posted 07 March 2013 - 05:23 PM

I use a G11 and have a variety of scope including the AT6RC, I also lately have been guiding with a 50mm miniguide scope and the SSAG with very impressive RMS on PHD. I dont know if PHD settings can work similar on others mount scopes but If you like to try my numbers here they're:
RA agressiveness:97,
RA hysteresis:28,