• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 butsam

butsam

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ohio

Posted 08 March 2013 - 10:29 PM

This is my first attempt at the entire process -- noise reduction and all. I couldn't figure out how to get rid of the background noise (I do have Photoshop Elements, but not too smart on it), so the background looks a little noisy.

I did use a 2x Barlow, but after doing noise reduction in Registax, I reduced the image size to 67%, effectively making the "magnification" appear to be around 400x, which is my 8" SCT's maximum resolving power.

In addition to Jupiter, Ganymede is also in the upper left.

I am pretty proud of this for a first attempt through the whole process! (I did capture some video of Jupiter one other time and extracted a single image that I thought was the best-looking one, but I didn't do any noise reduction or anything like that.)

I just wish the NexImage 5 worked better with AMD processors...I lucked out with an Intel laptop, they really need to fix that so others can experience what this camera can offer!

Attached Files

#2 Tel

Tel

Cosmos

• Loc: Wallingford England

Posted 09 March 2013 - 04:31 AM

Hi Sam,

An excellent first attempt combining Registax with Photoshop Elements. :bow::bow:

The initial image has a little mis-alignment of RGB, (a red curve, for want of a better description, around the bottom edge), which I've tried to pull into line in the attached 90 degs. CCW rotated image.

Also there is a little residual "onion ringing", on the same edge which probably results from the high frame rate (60f/s ?) you may have used and with which these cameras are apparently capable. Perhaps try varying the rate on successive next attempts to compare the effects?

Superb capture of the GRS, festoons and of course, Ganymede on the limb ! :bow::bow:

Best regards,
Tel

Attached Files

#3 ben2112

ben2112

Cloud Magnet

• Loc: North Charleston SC

Posted 09 March 2013 - 05:19 AM