• Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 issdaol

issdaol

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 09 March 2013 - 07:42 PM

Hi All,

I am totally new to astronomical video so would appreciate advice and pointers.

First off I have a Takahashi Mewlon 300 on a Takahashi EM400 Mount. I can drive this by IPAD using SkySafari or The Sky using a laptop.

Essentially I want to replace the eyepiece with a high quality astro video cam/ccd for live viewing potentially dumping to a monitor via HDMI/RGB/SVHS or Ethernet/IP to laptop screen.

Also may want to capture frames for stacking images.

Basically looking at all targets including Lunar, Planetary and Deepspace.

I have heard a lot of things about Mallincam. Is this the best unit for this?? What about Point Grey products like the Flea 3/Grasshopper3/Zebra or any other product.

At this stage imagine no budget limit on the product just so I can get a feel for which might be best then look at budget later.

Any help and Advice much appreciated

Cheers!!

#2 Atl

Atl

Viking 1

Posted 09 March 2013 - 07:57 PM

I asked this very question and started a flame war...lol. Good luck...

#3 issdaol

issdaol

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 09 March 2013 - 08:54 PM

I asked this very question and started a flame war...lol. Good luck...

LoL

I don't want to start up a brand war like Tak vs AP or AP vs TEC just open advice, pointers and opinions.

Apart from the general use specifications mentioned main other criteria is higher sensitivity, higher resolution video/image quality in a live viewable format.

#4 Dwight J

Dwight J

Apollo

• Loc: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

Posted 09 March 2013 - 09:15 PM