Photo

ideal star to choose for All Star Polar Alignment?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 end

end

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Houston, Texas, USA

Posted 13 March 2013 - 04:18 PM

Hi all,

Through some recent reading and thinking further on this subject it occurred to me (yes, I'm not quick!) that not all stars are created equal when it comes to selecting a good star for Celestron's All Star Polar Alignment. I've been using Celestron mounts for about 18 months and have had good results with the ASPA, but sometimes the star I choose results in more difficult adjustment. While it is true that you can select any star you want for this process, some of them will be easier to use than others as changes in the alt / az screws will have more or less effect on the perceived position of a star.

So here is the question: Ignoring star brightness, is it true that the best* star to select would be at or near the intersection of the meridian and the equator?

* For this question best is defined as resulting in the the most accurate result and easiest adjustment.

#2 rockethead26

rockethead26

Gemini

• Loc: Arizona, USA

Posted 13 March 2013 - 04:51 PM

I use this free program called Best Pair II. It seems to take all the guess work out of the equation. Works for me.

#3 end

end

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Houston, Texas, USA

Posted 13 March 2013 - 05:34 PM

Thanks for the link, but this is for selecting good stars for your goto alignment and not for polar alignment. What I'm looking for is the best star to select for the ASPA procedure.

#4 Peter in Reno

Peter in Reno

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 13 March 2013 - 05:45 PM