Jump to content


Photo

Aligning my CGE

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 16 March 2013 - 08:07 PM

OK, I'm sitting here in my new warm room trying to do the first polar alignment for the new observatory, and I'm already dumbfounded.

Just how far off should my first alignment star be? I believe the scope to be pretty close to polar alignment. Using a star atlas I have offset my finder scope cross hairs the correct amount from Polaris. When the scope slews to where it thinks Sirius should be (first alignment star, it is in fact pointing at Saiph in Orion?

WTH? I know it may be a little off but 15 moon diameters? I've double checked all my settings 20 times?

#2 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

    Refractor wienie no more

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 33759
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2003
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 16 March 2013 - 08:11 PM

Time zone?

#3 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 16 March 2013 - 08:13 PM

Time zone is set correct - Eastern

#4 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 16 March 2013 - 09:05 PM

Will shoot, I thought this was going to be a tough one.

Anyone know how to restore to factory defaults on the CGE classic?

Don't know what else to try at this point.
Time is right
Date is right.
Even manually enter the correct Long/ Lat instead of the city list!
Daylight savings time
Time zone is correct
Polaris appears offset correctly

Whats left?

#5 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27322
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 16 March 2013 - 09:20 PM

I don't remember exactly where it's at, but drill down through the menu and do the default setting. That generally cures the problem you're having.

David

#6 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 16 March 2013 - 09:25 PM

Yep, That did it. Thanks David.


Let this be a lesson to others that get a bad 1st alignment star. There are settings in the scope other than the usual Start up setting that can wack your alignment.


OK, that only put me 3 hours behind so far tonight. Gotta love modern amateur astronomy!

#7 jbalsam

jbalsam

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 492
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2012
  • Loc: Darnestown, MD

Posted 18 March 2013 - 10:05 AM

Glad you got it solved. I had a similar problem with my CGE when I got started with it, but it turned out to be a power supply with too low of a current rating.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics