Building equipment over time

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kargan

kargan

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 17 March 2013 - 04:49 PM

I have some freed up cash I can justify spending on my astrophotography hobby this year and am looking for some advice on which direction I should go. I can easily justify $1500-$2000. If I were to spend more I would need to see an extreme increase in capability to pull it off this year and not feel guilty. My splurge option could go as high as $4000.

Here is what I have at home: Meade LX90 GPS fork mounted alt-az, and a Meade DSI II Pro CCD camera. I also have a Canon T2i that I use for regular photography that I have never tried with astrophotography. I have been snapping images with this setup for a few years and have had some success on DSOs using many exposures stacked around 10-15s each. I live in Phoenix, so weather is a bonus.

Anything I buy I want it as future-proof as possible, meaning I won't regret underpaying for something I could dropped a few extra bucks on with larger capability and expansion ability.

Here is my thought: I definitely need a real mount. I am leaning toward the CGEM for ease of alignment and overall carrying capacity vs price. I might go for the DX for future-proofing where I could see either a larger OTA or a piggybacked 80mm at some point. I know a DX with my current 8" lx90 will require a dovetail and either an 11lb or 17lb losmandy counterweight as the included 22lb with the DX will not balance with the smaller 8" scope.

I am thinking that puts me in a place where my 8" could pull a minute or more frames and I could go deeper than ever. I am definitely a DSO junky. The DX would then allow me to expand to mount a 80mm, guider, etc at some point without further investment.

My 'splurge' option might be getting the $4000 C11 DX edgeHD which gives me a ton more aperture, gives me the cgem DX, etc, and maybe I can resell my lx90.