• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 JimP

JimP

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: South Carolina

Posted 20 March 2013 - 07:33 AM

I have been observing since 1965 but have not been much of a Deep mSky observer. Hopefully that will change with the aquisition of my Lockwood/Starmaster 20" Quartz F/3.3 scope. Many years ago I owned a 20" Obsession. My Farm is located in a tellow zone very close to a green zone. I decided to build an observatory there, initially wanting to observe Deep Sky objects because of how dark the sky was forom the yard of my Farmhouse. When I got the 20" I assembled it next to a barn and was amazed at the views. BUT, when I moved the scope to my observatory built out in the middle of a pasture something happened. Viewing the sky from the yard or from the side of a barn was viewing from the shadows, as a nearby city, which puts an unwanted dome of light in the southern sky, was blocked. In the roll off roof observatory the dome of light is Not blocked and when I climbed up the ladder to the eyepiece I was awash in light. The sky did not seem nearly as dark and my interest waned. With the 20" F/3.3 I will be able to "hide ion the shadow" of the observatory wall to observe. Has anyone else noted this ability to observe fromn the shadows or am I full of false hope?

JimP

#2 IVM

IVM

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: USA

Posted 20 March 2013 - 08:55 AM

It is similar to our club's observatory near the yellow-green border. It is better to set up in the "shadow" of the observatory house from the city light dome. I guess most of it could be addressed by additional baffling around the top end of the Dob, especially at low f-ratios. But since I usually observe from a much darker site, I haven't tried it. The other remedy (not instead but in addition to the baffling) is a hood or blanket over your head. Again, it's theoretical for me, except that I know I liked not to be facing the light dome when out of the observatory house shadow.